AirPort Express question

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by jmanley1, Mar 22, 2013.

  1. jmanley1 macrumors member

    jmanley1

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2012
    Location:
    Columbus, Ohio
    #1
    I apologize up front for what is probably an incredibly naive question.

    Is the AirPort Express basically a wireless router? Can I plug in my wired connection from my modem to the AirPort Express and then plug from AirPort Express into the back of my iMac for a wired connection on my iMac?

    Of course then using AirPort Express for all wireless devices throughout the house.

    Thank you
     
  2. drsox macrumors 65816

    drsox

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Location:
    Xhystos
    #2
    Yes. The AE is a router and a wireless bridge and a switch.
     
  3. jmanley1 thread starter macrumors member

    jmanley1

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2012
    Location:
    Columbus, Ohio
  4. Goodhur macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    #4
    Yes as long as you get the new design since it has both Wan and LAN ethernet ports. The previous models only have one ethernet port.
     
  5. jmanley1 thread starter macrumors member

    jmanley1

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2012
    Location:
    Columbus, Ohio
    #5
    Good to know. I'm typing this on my newly configured Motorola SURFboard 6141 and my AirPort Express.

    Very happy!
     
  6. drsox macrumors 65816

    drsox

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Location:
    Xhystos
    #6
    I didn't know they had keyboards ! :D
     
  7. jmanley1 thread starter macrumors member

    jmanley1

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2012
    Location:
    Columbus, Ohio
    #7
    :p

    (Via my iMac)
     

Share This Page