Airport Express Question

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by wknapp0924, Oct 26, 2013.

  1. wknapp0924 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    Location:
    Honolulu, HI
    #1
    I have an AP extreme and I extend the network with the express for the back of our place. I want the back ATV to wirelessly connect to the express, but it connects to the extreme in the living room.

    Is there a way to manually make it connect to the express? It gets way better performance when it does connect to it.
     
  2. priitv8 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Location:
    Estonia
    #2
    By assigning different SSID to the Express and joining that wifi on :apple:TV, I guess.
     
  3. drsox macrumors 65816

    drsox

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Location:
    Xhystos
    #3
    Don't think that works if you are extending the original network. Would work if there was a LAN connection between the two, but that's not what the OP seems to want to do.
     
  4. priitv8 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Location:
    Estonia
    #4
    Even on dual-band AirPorts? I.e. extend on 2.4GHz channel and setting 5GHz band up with individual SSID??
    That's my random thought, at the moment. Haven't had the need to test this in reality.
     
  5. drsox macrumors 65816

    drsox

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Location:
    Xhystos
    #5
    No, don't think so. It's not possible to operate the two bands independently like that (can't see why not but I guess they aren't designed to be so independent).
     

Share This Page