Airport Express Question.....

Discussion in 'iPad' started by DougFNJ, May 24, 2010.

  1. DougFNJ macrumors 65816

    DougFNJ

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Location:
    NJ
    #1
    Hello, I was wondering, if I have Linksys Wireless G router in my basement, and I plug an Airport Express in my bedroom on the 2nd floor, does it upconvert the Wireless G to Wireless N? Or does it keep it at Wireless G and increases the WiFi reception in the house?

    Thanks for any help.
     
  2. DougFNJ thread starter macrumors 65816

    DougFNJ

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Location:
    NJ
  3. Devilfish1 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    #3
    Since the source of your wireless is G and everything has to go through that in order to get to the airport i'd say no it dosnt up-convert your wi-fi to n but will help boost the signal
     
  4. al256 macrumors 6502a

    al256

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2001
    #4
    Extending a network from two different branded routers is tricky. You can use an Airport Express to log onto your network and use it for wireless music/printing. This will of course only use your existing G network.

    What do you want to accomplish with these two wireless routers?
     
  5. Gav2k macrumors G3

    Gav2k

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    #5
    The signal will be n but won't ever exceed g speeds.
     
  6. Runt888 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    #6
    I second this - both routers need to be compatible for one to extend another. Airport Express supports the WDS protocol. I used to have a Linksys router with custom firmware installed - supposedly it also supported WDS, but I never got it to work correctly.

    In the end, I bought an Airport Extreme, which works perfectly with both of my Airport Expresses.
     

Share This Page