AirPort Express, wireless network and a PC

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by 0eyvind, Jan 4, 2010.

1. 0eyvind macrumors member

Hello.

I'm considering buying the AirPort Express.
    I got a wireless router, which is connected wired to my PC Desktop and wirelessly to my MBP.

• How should I set up my AirPort Express, in order to use AirTunes and a shared printer on my PC and MBP, and the rest of the house?
    • I share the former network with my family. Would it be possible to add an external harddrive to the AirPort Express, so only I could acces it?

Thank you in advance.
    0eyvind,

2. skorpien macrumors 68020

I can't provide specific details as I have no practical experience with your setup, but you would need to make the Express join your current wireless network in AirPort Utility. This sets it up as a wireless device and should allow you to set up AirTunes and share a printer.

As for your hard drive question, the Express cannot share a USB HDD. The USB port is for printers only. You may be able to set the Express to allow a wired client to connect via its Ethernet port (again, unsure of the specifics) and connect a NAS to your network through that port however. Then you could set up securities according to the NAS so that only you could access it.

3. mmomega macrumors demi-god

mmomega

This is actually fairly easy to do.
    I have a similar setup as well, an Airport extreme base station and an Aiport express used to extend the network w/ my xbox360 connected to the express.

I can go into more detail once i get home and can see the settings but it is basically install the airport utility program to access the express, add the express to your current network ( there is a box to find in range networks, enter your network info) and a drop down box w/ an option to extend the network. That's basically it.

I then took the express plugged it up in my tv room, xbox360-->express via ethernet and that was it. Everything worked right away.