Airport Express "Your Apple wireless device does not have a valid IP address"

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by firtree, Jun 22, 2008.

  1. firtree macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    #1
    I have cable broadband, which works OK with my old Gigabyte router. I want to change to Airport Express, but DHCP seems to be failing.

    1. Unplug the old Gigabyte router which is working OK
    2. Connect the cable modem to the Airport Express and plug it in
    3. Start AirPort Utility
    4. "Your Apple wireless device does not have a valid IP address"
    5. I have
    Connect Using "Ethernet"
    Configure IPv4 "Using DHCP"

    What am I doing wrong?

    thanks
     
  2. gsahli macrumors 6502a

    gsahli

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago
    #2
    It's not the settings on the computer - it's the Airport Express that doesn't get its IP address from the modem/ISP correctly.
    Have I not understood something here?
     
  3. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #3
    First off does your cable modem have a built-in router? If it does, you will need to set the Airport Express to using bridge mode in the Internet section.
     
  4. firtree thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    #4
    It turns out I wasn't doing anything wrong. After restarting the cable modem and waiting a bit, it suddenly started working.

    (Thanks to the people who posted suggestions)
     
  5. bamaworks macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Location:
    Lexington, KY
    #5
    Ahh yes, the old restart trick. Works about 85% of the time.
     

Share This Page