Airport Express

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by Nlynn527, Feb 5, 2012.

  1. Nlynn527 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #1
    Im not sure if I am in the right place for this question, but I searched and couldn't really find an answer that made sense to me..

    I am currently living on campus at my university and we have access to wifi. My iMac and MacBook Pro seem to pick up the signal just fine, however, my iPad and Apple TV do not pick up the signal at all. I have an ethernet cord running from the wall to the Apple TV which works fine, but I still have no way of connecting my iPad or iPhone to wifi....So my question is why? and am I able to use an airport express (or any wireless router) to create my own wifi connection in my room? Is it as simple as using another ethernet cord and running it from the wall to the router?
     
  2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #2
    It could be your network settings on those devices. I don't know if your school can limit how many devices you can connect to the school's wifi.
    Yes, you should be able to do that. You may want to check with your school to see if it's allowed.
     
  3. Nlynn527 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #3

    Any particular reason why my MBP connects just fine, but my new MBA doesn't connect at all either?
     
  4. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #4
    Have you verified that network settings are identical in both? Have you tried connecting your MBA with your MBP not connected?
     
  5. Nlynn527 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #5
    I tried connecting the MBA while the MBP was completely off. I just searched google, is it possible to run an ethernet cord from the wall jack in my dorm to my iMac and then use the iMac as a hotspot for the rest of my devices?
     
  6. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #6
    Why not use the AirPort Express? That's what it's designed for.
     
  7. Nlynn527 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #7
    I was researching on my my schools website and wireless routers are prohibited.
     
  8. slu macrumors 68000

    slu

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Location:
    Buffalo
    #8
    Yes. This is possible via Internet Sharing.
     
  9. Nlynn527 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #9
    Thank you! I will give it a try tonight when I get back to campus.
     
  10. slu macrumors 68000

    slu

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Location:
    Buffalo
    #10
    No problem. Here is a screen shot for the settings you want.

    Click Wi-Fi Options to set network name and password.
     

    Attached Files:

  11. Nlynn527 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #11
    It worked! So this isn't like using a wireless router, right? They specifically say not to use wireless routers on campus.
     
  12. paulrbeers macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    #12
    Technically you have turned your imac into a wireless router of sorts....
     
  13. slu macrumors 68000

    slu

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Location:
    Buffalo
    #13
    Yeah. This does not violate the letter of the rule, but it may be violating the spirit. For all intents and purposes, you have made your Mac a wireless router.
     
  14. Nlynn527 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #14
    I will only turn it on when I need it. I technically live "off campus" in hoisin not owned by the university so I think I'll be ok. Thanks for the help everyone!
     

Share This Page