Airport Express

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by JonSarge3108, Dec 30, 2015.

  1. JonSarge3108 macrumors regular

    JonSarge3108

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2015
    #1
    Hi All,

    I have an Internet system at home which feeds in from an antenna on the roof (long range wifi type setup - I live fairly rural). It feeds into an AirPort Extreme, wired connection to an Airport Express upstairs and then another Airport Express (wireless) in the kitchen.

    Ran very well, so we'll I'd say superb, for the last 6 months. Today the kitchen has started dropping out and flashing orange on me - silly thing is it's still playing music to an attached speaker via AirPlay ?

    So... I've tried powering on and off, looked at AirPort app and reset from in that it regardless, 15-30 minutes later it starts flashing again and won't route Internet, only AirPlay.

    Any tips on what to try next please?

    Thanks.
     
  2. JonSarge3108 thread starter macrumors regular

    JonSarge3108

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2015
  3. JonSarge3108 thread starter macrumors regular

    JonSarge3108

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2015
    #3
    A full reset didn't help.

    I've moved it closer to the Extreme to see if that helps... Not a long term fix though as the speakers need to be in the kitchen :(
     
  4. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #4
    Did you try swapping the bedroom's Airport Express with the kitchen's to see if the issue occurs with that unit?
     
  5. zhenya macrumors 603

    zhenya

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    #5
    Was your full reset done by through the reset button on the device or through software? (I don't know if this generation has them, but on the previous Airport Express units there was a button to press with a pencil to give a true factory reset).
     
  6. waw74 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    #6
    did you reboot all of the wireless? the problem might actually be with the bedroom extreme.

    Is there a chance you got any new toys for christmas?
    cordless phone, webcam, baby monitor, microwave oven to name a few.

    also look at "powerline networking" if you're unable to run a cable to the kitchen extreme, and then set it up the same way you have the bedroom set up
     
  7. LiveM macrumors 6502a

    LiveM

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2015
    #7
    Your wireless extension will mean the whole network is running at n speed. If you can wire it via Powerline adaptors it should solve the problem and allow your Extreme to run WiFi at full speed.
     
  8. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #8
    Please explain in more details, are you saying use powerline adapaters that then plug directly into the airport express? In effect using two types of network extenders (powerline and airport express) or am I misunderstanding your post?
     
  9. LiveM macrumors 6502a

    LiveM

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2015
    #9
    Yes, that's right. Disable The wireless radio in the powerline adaptor and use the Airport Express for seamless switching from one access point or frequency band to another, and keep your Extreme at max WiFi speed.
     
  10. waw74 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    #10
    you have the bedroom hardwired,

    the powerline networking will allow the kitchen to be connected the same way, although instead of ethernet the entire way from the extreme, You'll use the power line to get the ethernet to the kitchen.

    so...
    Extreme --short ethernet--> powerline adapter --House electric wiring--> powerline adapter --short ethernet--> Kitchen airport
     

Share This Page