Airport Express

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by mattyb240, Dec 12, 2008.

  1. mattyb240 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    #1
    Hey everyone,

    I am looking for a wireless solution for my printer and external hard drive! Would an airport express be suitable with say a four port USB hub? Any suggestions?

    Thanks,

    Matt
     
  2. Solemony macrumors 6502

    Solemony

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Location:
    Wonderland
    #2
    Airport Express has four USB port? Maybe you should look at it carefully...I don't think the express has that many port it only has one usb, one ethernet port, and one audio minijack
     
  3. mattyb240 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    #3
    Sorry you have misread my comment, I meant hooked up to a four port usb hub. So Airport express > USB Hub > External Hard Drive & Printer

    Hope this clears it up..
     
  4. TheNightPhoenix macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    #4
    Sorry but the express doesn't support hardrives only the extream.
     
  5. descartes macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2006
    #5
    the airport extreme would do everything you need.
     
  6. Solemony macrumors 6502

    Solemony

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Location:
    Wonderland
    #6
    Oh ok. That explains it all..try an airport extreme the airport express doesn't support the hard drive.
     
  7. mattyb240 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
  8. ArkabaS macrumors member

    ArkabaS

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2004
    Location:
    The Moon
    #8
    Sorry to bring this thread back from the dead, but I too am looking at getting an AE. I have some questions, however. Any help would be much appreciated.

    Is it possible to use AE as a regular base station? Just connect it directly to cable modem and broadcast wireless? No network extension or any of that jazz.

    This AE would be for my parents, who have a mixed PC/Mac household. Will AE work well with both Vista and Tiger/Leopard? More importantly, does AE configuration software (Airport Utility) exist for Vista?

    Can AE broadcast mixed N/G? All the household computers are G-equipped, but my laptop is N-equipped and it would be nice to use N when I visit.

    How is the range of AE? Will 802.11G, say, broadcast well to a computer ~10-20 meters (~30-60 ft) away and through wooden floors/dry wall?

    Thanks in advance for any help.
     
  9. winninganthem macrumors 6502a

    winninganthem

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    #9
    1. Yes, I run it direct to a cable modem.

    2. Yes, works well with Tiger, Leopard, and there is a Windows version of the AE utility.

    3. No. Pick N or G, can't have both.

    4. Well, before, my Airport Express was downstairs and I could not get good reception to my room with N enabled. Switching it to G increased the range. Don't expect it to stretch for an awesome distance.

    Another note too, unplug your cable modem for about a minute before you attempt to install the Airport Express, this will save you a lot of headaches in trying to get it set up.
     

Share This Page