Airport Express

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by percyg23, Apr 7, 2010.

  1. percyg23 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    #1
    Hello all, this may be a stupid question but im going to ask anyway. I have an airport extreme that was connected via ethernet cable to my mac mini 1.83gig, (the one that doesnt have wirless), well I bought an 21.5in iMac (yay!!) and put the mini in my daughters room upstairs from the extreme. I dont want to buy 100ft of cat6 cable to run from downstairs to upstairs. I bought a wireless adapter from afterthemac but the thing doesnt stay connected and the software is buggy. Can I buy a refurbed express from the apple sight and connect it via ethernet cable directly to the mini? Or should I just run the cat6 ethernet cable? I would like to keep the speed as fast as possible for my daughter, thanks for reading. :D
     
  2. percyg23 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    #2
    ? answered

    sorry I got an answer from apple, I dont know how to remove the thread so please disregard, thanks.
     
  3. angemon89 macrumors 68000

    angemon89

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Location:
    The place where Apple designs stuff
    #3
    No need to remove the thread but yes that can be done. My main router is an extreme and I use the express to print wirelessly/use AirTunes/extend my wifi/play on xbox live (why buy the stupid microsoft dongle when you can just get an express).

    I just move it around to wherever I need it since it's so portable.
     
  4. percyg23 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    #4
    thats cool, i will use it for my xbox 360 as well then, I called apple right before i purchased it. it looks like my range will be increased a lot. glad i bought it, also glad i finally moved to mac!! thanks again.
     
  5. Arrandale macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    #5
    that is technically possible.

    what solution did :apple: offer?
     

Share This Page