AirPort Extreme 2014 dropped internet speed

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by Tagir007, Mar 30, 2015.

  1. Tagir007, Mar 30, 2015
    Last edited: Mar 30, 2015

    Tagir007 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2015
    #1
    I have an Ethernet cable without any routers from my ISP going straight to Airport Extreme.
    I have fixed IPv4 provided by ISP.
    I have 60 mB/s plan, which I always get if I connect any laptop straight to the Ethernet cable without any routers.

    When I bought and set up my Airport about a year ago, I was getting 60mB/s, i.e. Airport wasn't slowing down my internet speed.
    I've set it up as DHCP and NAT, input all the parameters for static IPv4, and it worked fine until recently...
    Last couple months i've been getting 20 mB/s at best (while still 60 mb/s without the router)
    I tried resetting to factory conditions, and setting up again. It did help for several hours. Then the speed droppd to 20 mb/s again...
    Does anybody have the same problem with this particular model of AirPort?
    Will be grateful for any troubleshooting tips!
     
  2. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #2
    Are you running the latest firmware? Are the speeds the same over both Wi-Fi and Ethernet on the AirPort?
     
  3. boast macrumors 65816

    boast

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Location:
    Phoenix
    #3
    You did the speed test from multiple sources?

    Do your traceroutes look similar with the router in and out?
     
  4. Tagir007 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2015
    #4
    Yes, the firmware is the latest, I have to check on the Ethernet speed from the Airport.
    I did the speed test from several sources, and they show the same problem with download speed.

    I played with the different channels, and separated the 5Ghz wifi with the name, and connected to that. That seems to have solved the problem for now, I will check in the evening.
    So I guess Wi-Fi interference was influencing my download speeds.
     
  5. Tagir007 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2015
    #5
    The speed through Ethernet port of AirPort is good- 60mb/s. But I still have problems with wifi speed. After changing channels it starts from 60 and thed at some point drops to 8-10 mb/s... I tried all the channels and, I tried moving the AirPort to a different spot- nothing helps...
     
  6. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #6
    Does this occur on both 2.4 and 5 GHz?
     
  7. Tagir007 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2015
    #7
    yes, I separated 2.4 and 5 GHz signals with different names, and both of them drop the speed to 8- 9 MB/s eventually
     
  8. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #8
    I would try to get a replacement AirPort as this issue should not be occuring. There is a 1 year limited warranty, and if you are past that, any device in your household with AppleCare coverage can have the AirPort included under that plan.
     
  9. aodesigns macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2015
    #9
    Could this be the same with the latest time capsule ? (Coverage from other devices with AC)
     
  10. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #10
    Yes. Any AirPort purchased within the two years prior or during the AppleCare coverage period of a Mac, Apple TV, or iPad.
     
  11. benji888 macrumors 65816

    benji888

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Location:
    United States
    #11
    I don't have airport extreme (yet, may get one soon), I've been having issues with WiFi calls at home, came across something that might help your situation... I'm not sure if these are settings you can change in airport extreme or if these are generic router settings, but, check out this: https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT202068

    "2.4 GHz channel width
    Channel width controls how large a "pipe" is available to transfer data. However, larger channels are more subject to interference and more prone to interfere with other devices. A 40 MHz channel is sometimes referred to as a wide channel, with 20 MHz channels referred to as narrow channels.
    Set to: 20 MHz
    Details: Use 20 MHz channels in the 2.4 GHz band. Using 40 MHz channels in the 2.4 GHz band can cause performance and reliability issues with your network, especially in the presence of other Wi-Fi networks and other 2.4 GHz devices. 40 MHz channels might also cause interference and issues with other devices that use this band, such as Bluetooth devices, cordless phones, neighboring Wi-Fi networks, and so on. Note that not all routers support 40 MHz channels, especially in the 2.4 GHz band. If they are not supported, the router will use 20 MHz channels."
     
  12. iLukeJoseph macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2011
    #12
    Could have been someone else setup a new router and is interfering with your channels.

    I would suggest downloading WiFi Explorer, or better yet inSSIDer (although it costs money).

    Make sure on 2.4 you only use channels 1, 6, or 11. Even if there are more networks on those channels, if all near by networks are using the same channels they will take turns talking to clients. If they are using other channels that creates cross-talk, and that is when you really start getting interference.

    On 5ghz, I would suggest testing the lower range of channels first (36 to 48 I believe).
     

Share This Page