Airport Extreme 5ghz

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by det2004, Mar 15, 2012.

  1. det2004 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    #1
    Ok, first a little background. We have a Mac Mini, an airport extreme, two apple tv's, and an iPhone.

    We also have a baby monitor that runs on the 2.4 ghz frequency which creates havoc for our video streaming.

    I changed the Airport Extreme to use 5ghz only but the Mac Mini and the iPhone do not support 5ghz 802.11n.

    The Mac Mini shouldn't be too big of an issue since I should be able to find a wireless N USB adapter, but the iPhone is a different story. We use that to control the apple tv in our daughters room over wifi using the remote app so the iPhone needs to be on the same wireless network as the apple tv's and the mac mini.

    Is there any way to use the Airport Extreme in dual band mode (2.4 & 5) and have the devices select which frequency to connect on? I would ideally like to be able to connect using 5 ghz with the Apple tv's and the mac mini, and 2.4 ghz with the iPhone, but all using the same ssid so that the iPhone could see the apple tv's and the iTunes library on the Mac Mini and reduce the interference from the baby monitor with our video streaming.
     
  2. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #2
    If you have a 3rd generation or newer Extreme it can transmit on both 2.4 and 5Ghz at the same time.
     
  3. det2004 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    #3
    Yes, my Extreme is capable of that, I was just wondering if there is a way of forcing the Apple TV's to use the 5ghz band every time they connect so that there isn't any interference with the baby monitor.
     
  4. waw74 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    #4
    I don't have one myself, but i believe you can give the networks different names, and then set up your different things to connect to the appropriate one.
     
  5. HazyCloud macrumors 68030

    HazyCloud

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    #5
    This. Although I've found that the ATV usually connects the 5 ghz every time. Of course I would still name the 2.4 and 5 networks differently so you can easily tell the 2 apart.
     
  6. Ccrew macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    #6
    Set it up on a separate SSID is one option.
     
  7. det2004 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    #7
    can't have different SSID's since then the iPhone will not see the ATV's and the Mac Mini to be able to control them with the remote app.
     
  8. ftaok macrumors 603

    ftaok

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    Location:
    East Coast
    #8
    You can. Even though they are separate SSID's, they're still the same network, somehow. I run a dual-band network at home and all of my various devices are able to connect and interact with one another.

    I don't know the technicals on how this works ... it just does.
     
  9. waw74 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    #9
    it's witchcraft!!! Burn the witch.


    all wireless connections go through the router.
    even if 2 devices are connected to the same network, they don't talk to each other directly, it goes through the router.

    since both networks come out of the same router, they're connected.
    with a more customizable router than an airport extreme, you could isolate each network if you wanted to.

    until a few weeks ago, i had an older linksys 2.4 network, and an airport express creating a 5Ghz network, a device connected to either wireless network or the wired network was able to talk to each other perfectly.
     
  10. det2004 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    #10
    Thanks guys, I'll give that a shot this afternoon. :)

    ----------

    Would I need to set up the secondary SSID as a guest network? I'm not seeing the option to create a second 2.4 ghz network on top of the 5 ghz one I already have going.
     
  11. hafr macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    #11
    Yes, by giving the two wavelengths different names. It won't be two separate networks, it's the same network with different names for different wavelengths, so no problem with remote app controls. Just make sure you have the appropriate networks on auto join on the different computers etc.

    Airport Utility 6.0: Airport Extreme > Edit > Wireless > Wireless Options > Tick the box next to "5GHz network name".

    Airport Utility 5.6 and earlier: Manual Setup > Wireless > Wireless Network Options > Tick the box...
     
  12. det2004 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    #12
    But I'm only seeing an option to create one SSID. If I go in and change the radio settings, it's just changing them for the SSID I already have...
     
  13. logana macrumors 65816

    logana

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Location:
    Scotland
    #13
    Would it not be simpler to change the baby monitor since that is the cause of all the problems you are having ???
     
  14. det2004 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    #14
    except it was a rather expensive audio/video monitor that you can pan/tilt/zoom...and the baby's safety is more important than media streaming..
     
  15. hafr macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    #15
    The settings are very unclear, but trust me :)

    Right now you have one network visible, "NetworkName" with password "Password1234", that your computers etc. will connect to using the 2.4 or 5 GHz wavelengths depending on which one they feel like using. By ticking that box I mentioned earlier, you'll have two visible networks, "NetworkName" and "NetworkName 5GHz", both using the password "Password1234".

    If your Mini connects to "NetworkName 5GHz" and your iPhone to "NetworkName", they'll still be on the same network although they're on different wavelengths, so you can use the Apple Remote App.
     
  16. det2004 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    #16
    I think I found the problem. We have a 2nd generation Airport Extreme which while it supports dual band, it does not support simultaneous dual band.

    Looks like I will be headed to the Apple store tonight, lol.

    Thanks everyone
     
  17. mwhities macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011
    Location:
    Mississippi
    #17
    Thanks to the OP for posting this. I did a search on google and it found it and helped me.

    Thank you hafr too. I saw that option too but, was unclear.
     
  18. JBmac, Aug 25, 2012
    Last edited: Aug 25, 2012

    JBmac macrumors member

    JBmac

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Location:
    Eastern, PA
    #18
    I have just finished setting up an Airport Extreme Router that arrived yesterday. I had to change 2 settings in order for my Apple TV, and iPad3 to to connect to the 5 GHz channel. Reason I am searching the forums here is because my iPhone 4s will not recognize or connect to the 5 GHz channel.

    In Airport Utility, under Wireless, I had to make these 2 changes:

    1.) Radio Mode I had to select "802.11a/n - 802.11b/g" , or "Automatic"
    2.) Radio Channel Selection I had to choose "Manual"
    3.) Wireless Nework Options button "Checkmark box - 5GHz Network Name"

    Now when I go to connect wireless on the Apple TV, and iPad3 the 5 GHz channel is a choice to select (after the first time you do not have to select it again), but not on the iPhone 4s. I have restarted the iPhone too. I still have a 2008 MacBook Air I haven't tried yet. My HP Laptop that I use for work surprised me, I clicked on the wireless connection,and the 5 GHz channel was there, I selected it and it works.

    My wireless work phone base, and the old Airport Extreme are near each other, and I can't move them anywhere else. Everytime my wireless phone rings it would knock out my Apple TV, and the HP Laptop wirleess connection. When the old Airport Extreme stopped working, bought it in 2006 I think, plus I have another refurbished one that still works at another place; I thought now is the time to upgrade, and fix the wireless interference issues.

    update: when I changed step 1. to "Automatic", my iPhone 4s now shows Wireless 802.11 N, but in the 2.4 GHz setting.
     
  19. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #19
    The iPhone 4S does not support 5Ghz WiFi networks. Only the Apple TV and iPad do.
     
  20. hafr macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    #20
    You should have tried searching the iPhone 4S tech specs first ;)

    802.11b/g/n Wi-Fi (802.11n 2.4GHz only)
    http://www.apple.com/iphone/specs.html
     

Share This Page