airport extreme 7th Generation?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by Che Castro, May 5, 2015.

  1. Che Castro macrumors 603

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    #1
    do you think there will be an update soon
    and what could they add to it to make it better?
    it already has 802.11ac

    i currently have the 5th generation & the airport extreme 6th generation Refurbished in the apple store is very tempting for $129

    right now i only have one device that has 802.11ac & that's the iphone 6 ,but i plan to get the ipad air 2 or 3

    my comcast internet speed is just over 100mb on speedtest, i get that on both iphone 6 and ipad mini 2

    everything else is wired ps4/mac/apple tv with cat6

    will i see an increase in speed with the 6th generation over the 5th ?
     
  2. JTToft macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Location:
    Aarhus, Denmark
    #2
    - Nope.

    - A USB 3 port and UASP support so you could get some proper speeds on attached disk drives.
    - A minijack port so you don't have to also have an AirPort Express for AirPlay.

    That would be nice.
     
  3. itsOver9000 macrumors 6502

    itsOver9000

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2013
    Location:
    B.F., KS
  4. FrancoisC macrumors 6502

    FrancoisC

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Location:
    Montreal, Qc
    #4
    I'd also appreciate one without the need of an internal fan. Mine is fine, but a friend of mine who live close to an highway had to open and clean his once or twice already.
     
  5. mmomega macrumors demi-god

    mmomega

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Location:
    DFW, TX
    #5
    After diving further personally into networking and equipment I'll probably be selling my 2 current gen Airport Extremes in favor of a Ubiquiti Router + Switch +(2) 802.11ac AP's.

    The AEBS has been my go to router since leaving my trusty LinkSys WRT54G.
    I've had the AEBS 3rd, 4th, 5th and now 6th gens as well as the 1st and 2nd gen Airport Express.

    Only need the switch (a 24port Gigabit) because I have everything in my home hardwired that can be.
    DirecTV Genie
    HarmonKardon AVReceiver
    Synology DS1515+ NAS
    MacMini Server
    (3) iMacs
    (5) AppleTV's
    and a few other Internety things in the house
    as well as having a few extra ethernet drops in each room.

    I've always loved my AEBS's and have sworn by them but I'm thinking of moving on.
     
  6. eduardrw macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 20, 2013
    #6
    I have a 2 story 2800 sqft home with 115 Mbs internet (comcast)with around 15 devices. Still using my previous gen Time Capsule as a router.
    Switched my cell phone provider to T-Mobile and got a free Asus AC1900 router from them. http://www.asus.com/us/Networking/RTAC68U/
    Using it connected to ethernet as a WFI extender.
    Now I have perfect coverage everywhere in the house with download speeds on the iPhone and iPad of 80Mbs or greater for free.
     
  7. mmomega macrumors demi-god

    mmomega

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Location:
    DFW, TX
    #7
    Mine is right at 2800 sqft 1 story so it is much more spread out.
    With the previous AEBS I needed 3 5th Gen's hardwired basically in a triangular pattern to get a consistent high speed signal, I too have a 100+Mbps.
    Even with excellent signal strengths I still had some occasional buffering on the AppleTV's. I ran a single CAT6 to that aTV and I had no more buffering issues so that weekend I started running CAT6 everywhere in the house and outside. We have aTV's outside on a patio at the pool.

    Seeing as though I had all of the tools the wire my house and CAT6 was barely $100/1000ft I wired absolutely everything I could and I still have 20+ WiFi devices.

    My one suggestion to anyone else that would want to hardwire their home....definitely do it before summer hits, especially if you live in the south or Texas. Those attics can get ridiculously hot.:p

    I've definitely dropped more cash than most into my home electronics but that's the kind of stuff that interests me. :p Cheers.
     
  8. recoil80 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2014
    #8
    Is it noisy?
     
  9. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #9
    The fan only kicks in when the temperature rises above a set interval and even then it is very quiet.
     
  10. Mr. Wonderful macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    #10
    There's actually quite a few good reasons for Apple to update the AirPort Extreme, though who knows when they will.

    From the features standpoint, a strong wireless network is going to be the backbone of Apple's HomeKit integration, which we expect them to heavily feature in the new AppleTV. In fact, it would actually make sense to release a HomeKit optimized/or HomeKit API version of the AirPort Extreme, or at least a firmware update that is automatically configured for it.

    From the Technology standpoint:
    -802.11ac chipsets and signal quality have improved greatly since the 6th gen was released. Even if they didn't add the below features, consumers would benefit from a newer revision of 802.11ac.
    -Multi-user MIMO
    -802.11ac Wave 2
    -USB 3.0
     
  11. Che Castro thread starter macrumors 603

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    #11
    My AirPort Extreme is acting up , I keep having to reboot unplug & replug to make it work right

    Should I wait for wwdc in case there's a new one announced
     
  12. rgarjr macrumors 603

    rgarjr

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Location:
    Southern Cal
    #12
    Wait it out
     
  13. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #13
    Here is a tip... Try using DHCP & NAT mode rather than Bridge Mode and if it keeps dropping out then downgrade the firmware to 7.6.1. That fixed all of the similar issues I had with the one at school.
     

Share This Page