Airport Extreme 802.11ac Routing Performance?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by Tussen69, Jun 17, 2013.

  1. Tussen69, Jun 17, 2013
    Last edited: Jun 17, 2013

    Tussen69 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2006
    #1
    Hi.

    To all of you who purchased the NEW Airport Extreme 6th Gen 802.11ac

    Using the Airport Extreme 5th gen and older as a router have had a limited Routing Performance.

    http://www.smallnetbuilder.com/wire...rport-extreme-gen-5-reviewed?showall=&start=1

    On the 5th Gen Airport the Throughput of the Airport have been limitied to 430 Mbps on the gigabit ports .. For example say you use your airport as a router and connect to is with CABLE ONLY. (Cable from modem to Airport and cable from Airport to all the Macs) You will never exeed more then 430 Mbps on the local LAN due to the INTERNAL SPEED LIMITATION.

    This means that even if the Airport have gigabit ports and you might have a gigabit ISP or gigabit LAN you will never exceed speed of more then the internal speed of the airport . (For some reason Apple thought it was not nessesary to have internal gigabit speed of the Airport)

    For some of us we use the airport as a router and connect multiply macs to it with Ethernet Cat 6 cables and we never exceed speed more then the the internal speed of the Airport.

    I´m using a App called "Speedy Net" to test the Network performance
    Mac - Mac and at WORK I get almost 800-900 Mbps with my rMBP using Ethernet and using a corporate router.

    At home with my Airport 5th Gen never more then 400 Mbps using ethernet cables only ..

    So my Question is have the INTERNAL speed of the new Airport Extreme 802.11ac finaly reached gigabit speed ?

    Is the Throughput finaly faster ?
     
  2. synnys macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2013
    #2
    I have a 3rd gen airport extreme and i measure speeds of more than 100MB/s (not mb/s but MB/s) so i can fully use the gigabit bandwidth.

    Looks like you (or your computer/harddisk) have a problem, and not the airport extreme
     
  3. Tussen69, Jun 17, 2013
    Last edited: Jun 17, 2013

    Tussen69 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2006
    #3
    Thats imposible because as you can read on countless of sites the Throughput of the Airport have always been slow check out the link I posted . Here is a snipet from that site.


    Test Description 5th Gen 4th Gen
    WAN - LAN Throughput (Mbps) 430.4 419.5
    LAN - WAN Throughput (Mbps) 434.6 330.7
    Total Simultaneous Throughput (Mbps) 496.5 414.7
    Max. Simultaneous Connections 29,413 128
    Firmware Version 7.5.2 7.5
    Table 1: Routing throughput

    http://www.smallnetbuilder.com/wire...rport-extreme-gen-5-reviewed?showall=&start=1

    as you se the Throughput is limited ... and its well known

    I dont belive that you are using your Airport as a router.

    The 3rd generation is known to have a Throughput of I think was 126 mbps as you can se here .

    https://discussions.apple.com/thread/3335574?start=0&tstart=0

    http://www.smallnetbuilder.com/wire...pple-airport-extreme-briefly-reviewed?start=1


    I can post countless links on the topic
    https://discussions.apple.com/thread/3297549?start=0&tstart=0
     
  4. portishead macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Location:
    los angeles
    #4
    This is incorrect, I had an older Extreme N router, and I got 125MB/s to my NAS. You're talking about LAN to WAN or WAN to LAN which is different. You'll only get around 50MB/s max. I only have a 25mbit connection, so I get about 3MB/s or so. A far cry from the 50MB/s max I could theoretically obtain.
     
  5. marzer macrumors 65816

    marzer

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Location:
    Colorado
    #5
    Screen Shot 2013-06-17 at 1.04.30 PM.png

    Hmm, apparently someone forgot to tell this to my 4th generation Airport Extreme :rolleyes:
     
  6. CaptHenryMorgan macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2013
    Location:
    The District
    #6
    Hey Tussen69, need a little aloe for that burn?
     
  7. wesk702 macrumors 68000

    wesk702

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2007
    Location:
    The hood
    #7
    On my 5th gen I can get DL speeds as high as 1.8Gbps when hardwired.
    Cox Las Vegas
     
  8. wsamuel macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2013
    #8
    I have a 1Gbps internet connection, I think I am facing this WAN-LAN/LAN-WAN limitation. When directly plugged into modem, I get about 900Mbps, once thru the 4th Gen Airport Extreme, the speed is around 330Mbps. So go back to the original question, has the 6th gen AE removed this limitation? Now that I have a true 1Gbps connection, I wouldn't want to get slowed down. Thanks.
     

Share This Page