AirPort Extreme 802.11n* Enabler for Mac

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by lgoodlove, Mar 2, 2009.

  1. lgoodlove macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    Location:
    Iowa
    #1
    So I was having problems with a recently new lynksis wireless N range extender router and i finaly had reached the conclusion that it was the router just going out but then my friend found out that my MacBook Intel core duo (early gens came with 60gb hard drive) may not even have wireless N...

    AirPort Extreme 802.11n* Enabler for Mac
    http://store.apple.com/us/product/D4141ZM/A
    I saw this and couldn't believe that apple is making us pay 1.99$ to activate are wireless N in old laptops. I still don't believe this why would they make you pay for that.

    Is this real and is it worth paying for?
     
  2. GfulDedFan macrumors 65816

    GfulDedFan

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Location:
    Indiana
    #2
    If you have a core duo (first model MacBook) the enabler will not help because you don't have draft N. If you have the second model core 2 duo (Nov '06) then it's worth it because you have draft N but it needs to be enabled. If you have the third model (May '07) or younger you don't need it. It's already enabled. -GDF
     
  3. Sun Baked macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #3
    Need to look to see which card you have.

    About this Mac/More Info/Network/Airport Card

    I think the enable was for the BCM43xx 1.0 (5.10.38.9) series of cards, something older isn't n-capable.

    I don't know what the older broadcom or atheros shows up as.
     
  4. manhattanboy macrumors 6502a

    manhattanboy

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2007
    Location:
    In ur GF's bed, Oh no he didn't!
    #4
    I don't know if it helps, but its hard to imagine it going any slower without it!
    I still feel like a physical ethernet wire is faster.
     
  5. lgoodlove thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    Location:
    Iowa
    #5
    ok makes sense now. just got confused why apple would do that
     
  6. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
  7. ProwlingTiger macrumors 65816

    ProwlingTiger

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    #7
    Go to Network Utility (in Utilities).

    Quoting Apple:
    In the section "Model: Wireless Network Adapter," if it says (802.11a/b/g/n), you already have the 802.11n enabler installed. If it says (802.11a/b/g), you do not have the 802.11n enabler installed.

    I have a Linksys Wireless N Gigabit (the new model - wrt310n) and my Mac flies on it. Range is good too, sounds like you may need the enabler.
     

Share This Page