airport extreme alternatives

Discussion in 'iMac' started by appleman108, May 3, 2011.

1. appleman108 macrumors member

i need a router (and external hd) to go with my imac. i'm tempted to go with airport extreme but am wondering if there are better options.

also, any thoughts on external hard drives? i figure better to go with a removable external drive than the time capsule.

i'm a graphic designer and teacher so am constantly copying and archiving work (my own and that of students)

there seem to be so many options out there.

any thoughts would be appreciated

2. swarleystinson macrumors regular

swarleystinson

I've been incredibly happy with my extreme router. Blazing fast and excellent range. Haven't had a single hiccough. Plus it looks great paired next to other mac products.
    As for HDDs, if you can afford them the G-Tech G-Drive is a great hard drive. It has Firewire 800 so you can rapidly transfer files. However, now the thunderbolt is out, you may want to hold off and by a thunderbolt drive you have a new mac that supports it.

3. appleman108 thread starter macrumors member

Thanks swarley, good to hear you're happy with the extreme. it makes sense really to stick with apple products, and it's not that much more than other routers.
    I've not heard of G-tech drives. i looked up the G-Drive and it looks awesome. This intel thunderbolt sounds worth waiting for. Looks like Lacie is coming out with one. would other drive makers be using this technology too?

4. bruinsrme macrumors 601

bruinsrme

the extremes are nice and I am running one.
    With that said I also run Linksys products.
    I had the linksys connected to my network after running a few configuration tests. I could have sworn I changed pack to the extreme.
    a few months later I needed to add a new wireless device and for the live of me I couldn't log onto the extreme, as the linksys was still connected
    the linksys is just as seamless as the extreme.