Airport Extreme and PS3?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by .mark., May 10, 2008.

  1. .mark. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 28, 2007
    Location:
    Jersey, C.I.
    #1
    Hey, could anyone confirm whether or not ps3's and airport extreme's play nicely together for streaming media files?

    currently I stream to my ps3 (via MediaLink) but I'm using a wireless router I got free with my internet connection. I've been considering upgrading to an airport extreme for a while now and I'm almost ready to do so - but I will obviously U-turn if it's not capable of streaming to a ps3.

    I've heard it's something to do with upnp?
     
  2. drummerlondonw3 macrumors 6502a

    drummerlondonw3

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Location:
    London
    #2
    I use an airport express (wireless g) to connect my ps3 to my MBP to stream media files.

    I have used nullriver software and it has worked flawlessly.

    The only thing to note is that it will not stream any DRM'd files so if you have a lot of media bought from itunes an apple tv might be best for your needs

    d:apple:
     
  3. .mark. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 28, 2007
    Location:
    Jersey, C.I.
    #3
    cheers for the input - yeah the DRM is not a limitation of the router.

    the reason I ask the question is because it was mentioned in this topic
     
  4. spydr macrumors 6502

    spydr

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Location:
    MD
    #4
    I have time capsule and am streaming to PS3 from my different macs.

    No problems with videos or pictures. I don't stream music to PS3 - only to an airport express connected to a stereo. All these work well.

    Only problems I have noticed is stuttering, when I stream high bitrate H264 videos. It goes away if I wire up the connection - however, even higher bitrate ripped vob files seem to play just fine with no stutter. I will try to put all this in a new thread to gather some feedback.
     
  5. neiltc13 macrumors 68040

    neiltc13

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    #5
    Remember that Airport Extreme is just a wireless router. It has no built in modem, so if you're using a provider other than Virgin Media (they supply customers with a standalone modem) then you will need a modem plugged in alongside the Airport.

    I would love to hear about online gaming performance with the Apple routers.
     

Share This Page