Airport Extreme and Win 2KPro ??

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by OldManJimbo, Feb 8, 2008.

  1. OldManJimbo macrumors 6502

    OldManJimbo

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Location:
    California Coast
    #1
    I'm a Mac, my wife is a PC. (although I look more like the PC guy).

    I would like to buy an Airport Extreme Base Station, but I notice in the specs that it works with Windows XP or Vista.

    Her PC is running Win2KPro - I'v never wanted to upgrade, hoping that someday she'll make the switch.

    Two questions -

    Will the Extreme work with Win2KPro?

    If not, any idea what would happen if I tried to run both WiFi units in the same house?
     
  2. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #2
    AirPort is just Apple's name for an 802.11b/g/n wireless device. If you have a wireless card in your W2K box that meets any WiFi standard it'll work just fine.
     
  3. OldManJimbo thread starter macrumors 6502

    OldManJimbo

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Location:
    California Coast
    #3
    So there's no software apps that need to be installed on the PC? It has a Belkin WiFi card that runs "g" - am looking upgrading it to a card that runs "n"
     
  4. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #4
    Nope, you don't need anything Apple on the PC. Just a wireless card that meets any of the wireless standards your AirPort has (802.11b/g most commonly, 802.11n too if you have the brand new one).

    If you have a belkin 802.11g card already in there, that will work just fine.
     
  5. OldManJimbo thread starter macrumors 6502

    OldManJimbo

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Location:
    California Coast
    #5
    Awesome - thank you.
    Nice avatar, by the way - it appears as if you've had some plastic surgery done.
    I think you were a blonde last time we chatted :)
     
  6. OldManJimbo thread starter macrumors 6502

    OldManJimbo

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Location:
    California Coast
    #6
    Hmm - something isn't correct:

    So - I installed the Extreme, used the Utility from my Mac and both Macs in the house had not problem joining the new Airport, but the Win2K machine would not -

    I'm using a Belkin "g" card - the card's utility (on the PC) says there is a solid signal from the Extreme, but it fails to connect with the Internet.

    Ideas?
     
  7. OldManJimbo thread starter macrumors 6502

    OldManJimbo

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Location:
    California Coast
    #7
    Finally just gave up and called Apple Care - took about 25 minutes but it's all better now.

    So - another question -

    Suggestions on an "N" card for a Win2K PC Desktop? Which work best with Airport Extreme?
     

Share This Page