Airport Extreme base station - USB stopped working

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by coltrane58, Aug 3, 2013.

  1. coltrane58 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012
    #1
    I have an airport extreme base station and I had an external drive hooked up to the usb port. It had been working for the 10 months I have owned it. I was not using a powered hub as some had recommended. about 3 weeks ago it was no longer being recognized. I then tried to access it using a powered hub and it still did not show up. I then tried a stick and that wasn't recognized. so, is there any explanation on what might have happened and how I might fix this?
    thanks
    john prokopek
     
  2. FreakinEurekan macrumors 68040

    FreakinEurekan

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Location:
    Eureka Springs, Arkansas
    #2
    Try reset - soft, then hard, then factory if the first two don't work. Also verify it's not the drive; plug it into your Mac & make sure it works there (I know you tried a stick so probably not issue with the drive, but double-check).

    http://support.apple.com/kb/HT3728?viewlocale=en_US&locale=en_US

    If none of that works, it needs service through Apple.
     
  3. coltrane58 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012
    #3
    thanks for the reply, after resetting the AEB the drive showed up as a sharepoint but not a drive. I can create and access files on the drive but it does not show up as a drive in the disk utility so I can't use the drive for a time machine drive. any ideas?

    thanks again
    john
     
  4. FreakinEurekan macrumors 68040

    FreakinEurekan

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Location:
    Eureka Springs, Arkansas
    #4
    Sounds like the drive is being treated as a FAT format, which can be used for shares but not for Time Machine. Try reformatting the drive on your Mac in OS X Extended (Journaled) format & see if that helps.
     
  5. ZipZap macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2007
    #5
    By chance did a new firmware get downloaded automatically to your hub? Every time I had a issue with the previous generation it was because it had somehow installed the latest firmware.
     
  6. coltrane58 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012
    #6
    I hooked up the drive directly to my mac mini and repartitioned the drive as journaled. It still does not show up as a drive. are there any particular settings in the airport utility that might make a difference?
    thanks
    john

    ----------

    ZipZap
    how can I find out the firmware upgrade history? I thought this might be the problem but I do not know how to check the upgrade history or how I might be able to revert to a prior version. with my pc boxes modifying a bios is easy.

    thanks for the help
    john
     
  7. coltrane58 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012
    #7
    ZipZap

    okay so I reset the extreme using the reset button on the back. I tried to revert to an earlier version of the firmware and then I updated to the latest. I also repartitioned the drive and it still only shows up as a share. I do have a drive plugged directly into the mac mini for backups and that correctly shows up as a drive. Since I know that i can backup to the drive I tried to use that drive to test the extreme usb port and it still does not show the drive as a usb drive only as a sharepoint. are there any specific settings I should set in the disk settings in the airport utility?

    thanks
    john
     
  8. FreakinEurekan macrumors 68040

    FreakinEurekan

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Location:
    Eureka Springs, Arkansas
    #8
    John I guess I'm a little confused, re-thinking the issue you're seeing I think I gave bad advice earlier.

    In the AirPort Extreme prior to the most current (tower/802.11ac) version disks attached to the Extreme are shared but they don't show up as disks in Disk Utility. You simply browse to them as share points. Apple didn't support using disks on AirPort Extreme for Time Machine until this most recent Extreme version.

    There is a work-around for this, which basically involves creating a sparse bundle on the drive and then mounting that sparse bundle as a disk on your Mac, then you can select that for backups. But it doesn't happen automatically.

    Is it possible that you'd gone through the steps like described in this website to get it to work in Time Machine? If so you could re-do those steps - but it's not very reliable, and it's prone to simply quit working (which sounds like what may have happened to kick this whole issue off).

    If you have an iMac or Mac Mini I'd plug the disk in directly to the computer for Time Machine. If it's a MacBook that may not be practical, in which case you might consider upgrading to the latest AirPort Extreme (which explicitly supports using disks for Time Machine backups) or even getting a Time Capsule (new or even a refurb previous generation). You could then use your current Extreme to extend wifi coverage with either of those solutions, or sell it.
     

Share This Page