Airport Extreme Base Station with Virgin Media Broadband

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by captain-rossco, May 29, 2009.

  1. captain-rossco macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    #1
    Hi Folks,

    I'm trying to connect my new AEBS to virgin media broadband. We have a cable modem.
    The AEBS is saying your apple wireless device does not have a valid ip address. I thought it woul dbe a case of just unplugging the old belkin and following the on screen instructions.
    Any ideas?

    Regards
    CR
     
  2. stridemat Moderator

    stridemat

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    You might find that VM are looking for a specific mac address (that of your old router). Have you tried ringing customer support? Slightly different but when I was in University halls I had to ring my network admin to change the mac address of the peripheral device I wanted to use at the time.
     
  3. jamin100 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    #3
    Turn everything off (modem, Airport)

    Turn on Modem and wait for the ready light to be a solid green.

    Turn on AEBS

    Make sure that your getting an external ip on the AEBS
     
  4. captain-rossco thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    #4
    hi all,
    yes did that and its saying it cant find dns servers etc.
    proving to be a nightmare at the moment, desperate to get it up and running, will try apple again in the morning

    Regards
    CR
     
  5. TEG macrumors 604

    TEG

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Location:
    Langley, Washington
    #5
    Don't call Apple, Call Virgin Tech Support. It is likely something minor that they need to change. The AEBS should be looking for an address automatically from the Virgin Modem, but it may need some other settings, or they just need to change the MAC address they are looking for.

    TEG
     

Share This Page