airport extreme: buy now or wait?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by LucasLand, Sep 15, 2009.

1. LucasLand macrumors 6502a

LucasLand

I'm just getting into the whole wireless setup for my place. I think airport extreme would be great for me. Is this one of those products they update every now and then? Is there anything they can do to this to make it better, which would make me wait for an update?

2. NeverhadaPC macrumors 6502

NeverhadaPC

I got Airport Express as I was not sold on the $199 price tag of the extreme and did not need extra Ethernet outputs.

Both Airport express and extreme come with Wireless N compatibility. I do not think they are updating their expresses anything soon besides a possible price cut.

Good luck. :cool:

3. gnomeisland macrumors 6502

Doubtful. They just updated the Time Capsule line (Airport Extreme w/ built-in hard drive) but only bumped up the size of the drives. Unless Apple's got some thing super secret in the pipeline, there aren't any major features that are missing from the airport extreme. I believe there are a few routers out there that get better performance but--as someone who owns an older Extreme--there is something nice about an all Apple setup. It doesn't take the headache out of it completely but it does seem to help. Plus Apple actively develops the compatibility between their devices so my experience has actually improved dramatically since I first bought the device with firmware updates on both my MBP and AES.

As far as Express vs. Extreme I would say it depends what you want to hook up and what kind of range/speed you need. While they both have wireless-N, the Extreme does have a better range and better speed, plus if you have both N and B/G devices the new Extreme will segregate them wirelessly and thereby speed up your N devices. Might be worth the extra cash if you've got heavy traffic on your home network.

4. bbapps macrumors regular