Airport Extreme / Comcast Issues

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by henrysherman, Sep 2, 2012.

1. henrysherman macrumors newbie

All,
    I'm not technically inclined, so forgive any confusing statements. If you respond with questions I can certainly reply:

Set Up
    Comcast Cable Modem
    Airport Extreme (5th generation)
    2 Airport Express base stations
    PC

For the last 5+ months, we haven't had any problems. Setting-up the Extreme wasn't easy, but I got it to work and had the Airport Express devices working fine, connected to speakers in the house and running music through Home Sharing.

Last week we had to reset our Comcast cable modem and now nothing works.

Steps to Date
    1. I've reset the cable modem and powered down
    2. I've unplugged all the Airport Express base stations
    3. I've powered down the extreme, unhooked all of the cables
    4. I've also used the reset button in the back of the extreme
    5. I restarted the cable modem, waited for it to power up and reset it
    6. I spoken with comcast and they have a strong signal to the house
    7. Hooking up directly to the PC from the comcast modem works fine (that is how I'm posting now).

Re-Set Up Steps
    Here is what I just tried, with no success
    1. Started with the entire ecosystem unplugged
    2. Reset the Comcast cable modem and let it cycle through
    3. Powered down the Comcast cable modem
    4. Once it had cycled up, plugged in the Extreme power chord to let it power up until it was flashing yellow
    5. Hooked the Ethernet cable from the cable modem to the extreme until I got a green light
    6. Tried to connect my iPad - got a full wireless signal - checked Manage the network and it is showing a green light for the Extreme and a yellow light for the Internet
    7. Plugged an Ethernet cable from the Extreme to the PC and got the 'weak/no' connectivity icon.
    8. Still have a green light on the Extreme through all this