Airport Extreme dead?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by fletcho, Apr 30, 2008.

  1. fletcho macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    #1
    Apple newbie here with a question I can't find an answer to anywhere else. Have had an airport extreme running fine for 6 months or so. No problems. Woke up this morning with no connection and the status light off. Checked all connections, power supply, etc. There are flashing green lights on the ports, but still no status light. Plus, the power supply is making a weak beeping noise. Not sure if that's normal but I hadn't noticed it before.

    Any suggestions?

    Thanks,

    Fletcho
     
  2. coledog macrumors 6502a

    coledog

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    Location:
    Adirondacks
    #2
    Have you unplugged it and let it sit for 30 seconds or more and then plug it back it? (Effectively rebooting it)

    Also in your Airport Utility (on Mac or PC) go the logs section and see if anything bad happens through the night.
    Also it might be your internet service provider. Do you have a modem or something you can unplug (30 secs) to reset?
     
  3. fletcho thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    #3
    Utility

    I launched the airport utility, it scanned for the airport and says it can't find any wireless devices. The airport is warm to the touch, btw. just not responding. I haven't turned them both off yet.
     
  4. hankolerd macrumors 6502

    hankolerd

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #4
    try what coledog suggests. It could be dead. I think mine is usually orange when the internet connection dies though, and is green what is it working. I have never had it go completely off. It could be a dead airport or a dead led. Run Airport Utility and see if it can see the airport.:apple:
     
  5. fletcho thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    #5
    Thanks for the suggestions!

    It doesn't seem to recognize the airport at all. Turned it and the modem off to no effect. Modem seems to indicate it's getting through - and I don't have any probs with TV, phone, etc (it all comes through cable) - so I'm thinking the airport itself. Any other ideas?
     
  6. coledog macrumors 6502a

    coledog

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    Location:
    Adirondacks
    #6
    Assuming you're at the point where you don't mind losing your network settings, try holding the reset button down on the back (when ONLY the power cable is plugged in) for about 30 seconds, with a paper clip or something small. See what happens I guess!
     
  7. OddThomas macrumors regular

    OddThomas

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Location:
    Grapevine, TX
    #7
    I had the same problem 2 wks ago. no status light, but lights on back showed power. I took it back to the apple store and they gave me a new one. Was only 3 months old.
     
  8. fingerdrop macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012
    #8
    Anyone find a way to fix this at home. I'm about 5 years out of warranty and have the EXACT same issue.
     

Share This Page