Airport Extreme, ease of use?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Morod, Mar 11, 2008.

1. Morod macrumors 68000

Morod

The title pretty much sums it up. I'm moving, and the new place would benefit if I used a wireless connection. I'm looking at Apple's Airport Extreme base station as a good fit. I've never used a wireless router/network before, so I am hoping for its ease of use/dependability as a plus.
    Is the Airport Extreme a good fit to go with my Mac?
    Thanks for any advice!
    Morod

2. TJones macrumors regular

Yes, it's a good router imo and pretty simple to set up.

3. aross99 macrumors 68000

aross99

It doesn't get any easier than the Airport Extreme. I have setup numerous wireless routers from D-Link, Belkin, Apple etc, and the Airport Extreme is by far the easiest. This is especially true if you are not a networking expert.

All of the other solutions have PC specific software for easy setup, or HTML interfaces with page after page of settings. This is fine if you know about things like IP addresses, netmasks, NAT, gateways, PPPoE, static IP's, etc. Not so good if you just want to know how to get a wireless connection from your MacBook to the internet.

If you have any hesitation in this area, I would get an Airport Extreme, unless you have someone to help set up another router...

4. Morod thread starter macrumors 68000

Morod

Thanks for the advice! I simply have my Al iMac, a USB printer and my f/w backup drive that's connected to my iMac. This sounds like something even I can do, and I have absolutely no wireless/router/network experience.
    Morod

5. Morod thread starter macrumors 68000

Morod

AirPort Utility update available now

5.3.1. Supposed to fix some problems. Good luck,
    Morod

6. Hackcomic.com macrumors regular

What is the difference between the extreme with gigabit and without?