Airport Extreme + Express Advice

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by nidserz, Aug 27, 2008.

  1. nidserz macrumors 6502a

    nidserz

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Location:
    Dubai x Toronto
    #1
    Hi everyone,

    Well I have invested in an Airport Extreme and Express (both current -n).
    I am having some trouble with my set up as the internet is extremely slow across the house wirelessly.

    Prior to switching to Mac I have had linksys and d-link routers. Only 1 controlling the whole house giving off great wireless speeds. After switching to the iMac and getting an Airport Express (AE) I invested in the Airport Extreme (AEx).

    My current set up is as follows:
    Basement --> ISP --> AEx --> PC Desktop (ethernet)
    --> AEx --> PS3 (wireless)
    Main Floor --> PC Laptop (wireless)
    --> PC/Apple Laptops (wireless) when people come over
    Top Floor --> AE --> iMac (wireless)
    --> AE --> PC Laptop (wireless)/iPod Touch or iPhone

    So basically I have the AEx wired to my PC dekstop. The AE is located on the top floor to help "boost" the signal and increase speeds for my iMac and various other laptops that may connect to the internet.

    I don't know why but my internet has been sucking these days and I have upgraded to the highest cable available in Canada - 10mbps! Maybe I have set up my AE wrong?
    At first I set it to "extend a wireless".
    I have no changed it to "join a wireless network". And checked of "Allow ethernet connections". I hope to use an ethernet connection for my iMac.
    However I have been getting slow speeds on the main floor with the wireless networks.

    Any suggestions on how I should set it up or what settings in particular I should be looking at?

    Thankss
     
  2. knockknock macrumors member

    knockknock

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Location:
    at home
    #2
    Have you tried unpluggin everything off? I had a similar problem; and when everything got unplugged for 30 secs. and plugged back it worked. here' how I did it:
    1-modem until it boots
    2-router " " "
    3- computers and periferals.

    Good luck:)
     
  3. SnowLeopard2008 macrumors 604

    SnowLeopard2008

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    #3
    A simple reboot of the entire network system might do the trick.
     

Share This Page