Airport Extreme/Express Wireless/Wired

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking' started by peoplevoice, Sep 18, 2011.

  1. peoplevoice macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    #1
    In the attached graphic, is it possible to replace?:
    - Time Capsule for an Airport Express
    - USB printer for an iMac using an Ethernet cable.

    The airport card of the iMac is broken so I'm trying to get the Internet connection through Airport Express (wireless) and Ethernet port without any success.

    If I connect directly the iMac to one of the Ethernet ports of the Airport Extreme works fine.

    The image was copied from Apple Airport Networks Manual (page 40).

    I'd appreciate any help.

    Thanks
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
  3. DustinT macrumors 68000

    DustinT

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    #3
    It might be a lot simplier to grab a USB wifi adapter to fix the one thats broken. For $30, its certainly cheap enough.
     
  4. peoplevoice thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    #4
    Extended Mode?

    I have already the Airport Express many years ago and it has been working fine. In this moment its Wireless Mode is : Join a wireless network.

    Is this the proper mode for Extended Mode?
     
  5. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #5
    There should be an option of "Extend a wireless network". I think this option is only for newer N Expresses. For the G Expresses, you'll have to manually setup the WDS.
     
  6. peoplevoice thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    #6
    USB wi-fi adapter

    Thanks for the information. Maybe I can leave the airport express for stream music to my stereo and use this USB for the iMac.

    I've tried the WDS alternative and I haven't been successful yet. Besides using the airport extreme in that mode some features are lost.

    Thanks for both answers.
     
  7. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #7
    To connect newer Airport base stations to WDS networks, you have to hold down the Option key when clicking the "Wireless Mode" menu. It'll present you with a WDS option.
     

Share This Page