Airport Extreme..... HELP!

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by Aliencowboy69, Feb 19, 2012.

1. Aliencowboy69 macrumors member

Ok. please be patient with me as I'm a bit of a noob, and clueless when it comes to computers.

I recently got my sky broadband installed (8th February) due to my old provider (talk talk) being useless. However when the Engineer had finished installing my telephone line and left my house I tried to set up my router, but it didn't seem to be working properly (only light to light up was the green power light, no other lights were on, flashing or otherwise).

I contacted my service provider and they told me my router was faulty and they would send a new router. 11 DAYS LATER I still didn't have a replacement router so decided to go and buy 1 from Apple.

Visited the Apple store and was told that what I needed was an Airport Extreme, and I would just set this up and wouldn't need the router sky were sending me as this done the same job + more. I got home and tried to set it up, but didn't know how to do it exactly so contacted sky who told me that my airport extreme wont work, it is very very complicated to set up and no one from sky knows how to do it and I should just wait for my replacement sky router to be sent.

So basically I would like to know

Can this be set up as a router or will I need to wait for my replacement router?
    Is it very very difficult to set up?
    Have I just wasted £140?
    If it can't be used as a router then what is its purpose?
    Im pulling my hair out here (well whats left of it)

2. simsaladimbamba

An AEBS can be used as router, I use mine for exactly that.
    I connected the AEBS to the modem and set up the internet via PPPoE in AirPort Utility > Manual Setup > Internet.
    Have you looked at the AEBS manual yet?

3. Aliencowboy69 thread starter macrumors member

modem?
    PPPoE
    I had a look at the manual, but was lost so thats when I tried contacting sky