Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

shorn

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jun 29, 2010
Hi all,

I have a mac mini that I use as a media server, and a MBA both connected (wired) to a Airport Extreme Base station.

I use screen sharing from the MBA to the mini as the mini runs headless.

Performance has always been poor, so did a bit of checking today, and have seen that both the MBA and Mini are connected at 100Mbit/s. Should be getting Gigabit. Ethernet cables I'm using are CAT5e.

Any idea on what I can try?

shorn

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jun 29, 2010
Sorry, forgot to mention that the MBA is hooked up to a Thunderbolt display. The display is connected via ethernet.

Weaselboy

Staff member
Jan 23, 2005
California
Sorry, forgot to mention that the MBA is hooked up to a Thunderbolt display. The display is connected via ethernet.

Hmmm... that should work. I have a 2012 MBA connected wired through a TB display and it is GB. Are you looking in this screen under "advanced" in "Display Ethernet" in the network panel of System Prefs?

tlzQA.png

Do you have the Display Ethernet connection at the top of the list like this so it takes priority over the wifi connection?

8C6a5.png

shorn

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jun 29, 2010
No, I've been looking in the Network Utility,

However, when I checked where you said, I see this...

Screen%20Shot%202012-10-29%20at%2021.27.09.png

But, I have just tried swapping the ethernet cable to the Mac Mini, and it's now connecting in at 1Gbit/s. Maybe a dodgy cable? (Which will be a PITA, as its chased into the wall!)

shorn

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jun 29, 2010
Right, just swapped back to my old cables, and back to 100Mbit/s.