AirPort Extreme - MAC filtering

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by mgpg89, Oct 2, 2008.

  1. mgpg89 macrumors 6502a

    mgpg89

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2008
    Location:
    Belgium
    #1
    I've got an AirPort Extreme set up but there's no MAC filtering yet ... How can I set this up?

    Thanks
     
  2. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #2
    its in the settings somewhere (advanced somewhere i think). take a closer look and you will find it!

    (not at a mac right now so i cant help u sorry)
     
  3. Le Big Mac macrumors 68020

    Le Big Mac

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #3
    Airport Utility-->Choose extreme-->Airport tab-->Access-->Choose timed access. Then select "default" and choose "no access" then add MAC addresses and choose the level of access you want to provide (timed, unlimited, etc.)
     
  4. DimeTech macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2003
    #4
    this is how i have my network setup. nothing beats having an open network that people can't connect to.
     
  5. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #5
    yep thats it lol!! thankyou :)
     
  6. Le Big Mac macrumors 68020

    Le Big Mac

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #6
    is this just a tease?
     
  7. andiwm2003 macrumors 601

    andiwm2003

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #7
    isn't that risky because i thought it's quite easy to spoof a MAC adress?
     
  8. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #8
    VERY risky.
     
  9. Luap macrumors 65816

    Luap

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    #9
    lol! :D This is what I do also..
    As for MAC spoofing.. Im not sure it's that easy, not common. But doable, sure. Besides, where I live I very much doubt anyone could be arsed to do anything like that. Plus i never had the best of luck with wep and wpa setups anyway. So MAC filtering suits me just fine.
    If I do notice any missing bandwidth or strange logs on the Extreme, then maybe i'll try again at beefed up security, but until then... :cool:
     
  10. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #10
    I'd think it's difficult to spoof MAC addresses you don't know? A lot of guessing?
     
  11. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #11
    lol its quite easier than you'd think. there are many PC programs that allow you to take packets of wireless data and break them down to look at them. the programs are written so that all you have to do is run them and it does everything for you.

    too bad it doesnt run on atheros wireless cards (pretty much what all Macs have in them). need a PC handy :p
     

Share This Page