Airport Extreme N doesn't work with PCs

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by InkMaster, Jul 7, 2008.

  1. InkMaster macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Location:
    Nagoya, Japan
    #1
    My problem; I can't get my Airport Extreme to work w/ any of my PCs (via wireless).

    I have an Extreme N w/ gigabit -- and using WPA/WPA2 security. Latest firmware.

    My MBP works perfectly fine, so does my iPod Touch and even my printer which connects via WiFi also (hp Photosmart D7460).

    However none of my PCs can connect, I already tried w/ 2 different Dell laptops a Toshiba laptop and a desktop. All are running XP and have all the updates etc...

    All connect and work fine to my Linksys WRT54G.

    Any suggestions?
     
  2. careyjames macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2006
    #2
    are you using the passphrase or the long hexidecimal equivalent..?

    you must enter the hex number...

    windows likes it the hard way...

    also, your password that you created in your extreme MUST BE 13 characters long.

    CJ

    Apple Tech Consultant
     
  3. InkMaster thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Location:
    Nagoya, Japan
    #3
    MUST BE 13? sheesh... :p mine is only 9.

    But something else... Even if I disable the security completely its exactly the same as w/ the password. When I try to connect I get the 'connecting' dialog w/ the running progress bar and every few seconds it connects and instantly disconnects and tries again and again...


    Code:
    Jul 07 19:02:46	Severity:5	Associated with station 00:0d:0b:a5:3c:e8
    Jul 07 19:02:49	Severity:5	Deauthenticating with station 00:0d:0b:a5:3c:e8 (reserved 2).
    Jul 07 19:02:49	Severity:5	Disassociated with station 00:0d:0b:a5:3c:e8
    Jul 07 19:02:53	Severity:5	Associated with station 00:0d:0b:a5:3c:e8
    Jul 07 19:02:56	Severity:5	Deauthenticating with station 00:0d:0b:a5:3c:e8 (reserved 2).
    Jul 07 19:02:56	Severity:5	Disassociated with station 00:0d:0b:a5:3c:e8
    Jul 07 19:03:04	Severity:5	Associated with station 00:0d:0b:a5:3c:e8
    Jul 07 19:03:07	Severity:5	Deauthenticating with station 00:0d:0b:a5:3c:e8 (reserved 2).
    Jul 07 19:03:07	Severity:5	Disassociated with station 00:0d:0b:a5:3c:e8
    Jul 07 19:03:29	Severity:5	Associated with station 00:0d:0b:a5:3c:e8
    Jul 07 19:03:31	Severity:5	Associated with station 00:0d:0b:a5:3c:e8
    Jul 07 19:03:31	Severity:5	Installed unicast CCMP key for supplicant 00:0d:0b:a5:3c:e8
    Jul 07 19:03:42	Severity:5	Disassociated with station 00:0d:0b:a5:3c:e8
    Jul 07 19:03:43	Severity:5	Rotated TKIP group key.
    Jul 07 19:03:48	Severity:5	Associated with station 00:0d:0b:a5:3c:e8
    Jul 07 19:03:51	Severity:5	Deauthenticating with station 00:0d:0b:a5:3c:e8 (reserved 2).
    Jul 07 19:03:51	Severity:5	Disassociated with station 00:0d:0b:a5:3c:e8
    Jul 07 19:03:54	Severity:5	Associated with station 00:0d:0b:a5:3c:e8
    Jul 07 19:03:57	Severity:5	Deauthenticating with station 00:0d:0b:a5:3c:e8 (reserved 2).
    Jul 07 19:03:57	Severity:5	Disassociated with station 00:0d:0b:a5:3c:e8
    
     
  4. careyjames macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2006
    #4
    well, now windows maybe confused, surprising, i know.

    enter a new and different ssid "network name" so it gets a fresh start.

    try that...
     
  5. Jason Edwards macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    #5
    I had the same exact problem. Connect and then disconnect. I ended up taking the Airport Extreme back and continued using my Linksys WRT54G after trying several suggestions I found on the net.

    Jason
     
  6. InkMaster thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Location:
    Nagoya, Japan
    #6
    Connects to the AEBS but can't connect to the internet nor anything on the lan for that matter...

    Sigh... stupid stupid windows
     
  7. rvinny macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    #7
    speaking from experience:
    make your WPA2 key 13 characters long

    I was dealing with the same thing for a month. I had a 9 character WPA2 and AES key for my Apple stuff and it worked fine. Dell with WinXP would see the network, connect, but not get an IP. Same errors in my AE as you mention above. Changed the shared key to 13 characters and the Dell connected right up at 130Mbps!
     
  8. rvinny macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    #8
    Thanks man! 13 characters did the trick.
     
  9. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #9
    I just made sure the passphrase was at minimum 8-characters long.
     
  10. Sesshi macrumors G3

    Sesshi

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Location:
    One Nation Under Gordon
    #10
    Probably not a Windows issue as such, as my notebooks are fine until an Apple comes to join the wireless party. This goes for some non-Apple base stations too. I don't know enough about WPA to say much about why that would be.
     
  11. msprouls macrumors member

    msprouls

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    #11

Share This Page