Airport Extreme n-only ignored?

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking' started by cube, Aug 15, 2015.

  1. cube macrumors G5

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    #1
    I have always set my Airport Extreme to n-only, but today looking at the WiFi scanner it shows as b/g/n and a/n.
     
  2. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #2
    Do note that N runs on both 2.4 and 5 GHz so setting one will not necessarily force clients to wireless N only as they could jump bands.
     
  3. cube thread starter macrumors G5

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
  4. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #4
    Do any of the clients still connect at a speed other than N?
     
  5. cube thread starter macrumors G5

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    #5
    I don't have any bg-only devices, that's why it was set to n-only years ago.

    But I never used the WiFi scanner before.
     
  6. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #6
    I could be wrong but if I recall correctly, some scanners probe the hardware capabilities and the AirPorts software decides N only. For instance, it sees it is capable of B/G/N but when a client is connected it is forced to be N only by software.
     
  7. cube thread starter macrumors G5

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    #7
    But the other networks in the vicinity are showing as n only.
     
  8. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #8
    Some routers disable the G hardware where as the AirPort uses software to control that.
     

Share This Page