Airport Extreme needs an upgrade?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by Tadros86, Dec 23, 2011.

  1. Tadros86 macrumors 6502

    Tadros86

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #1
    So I noticed that the Airport Extreme is now on it's 5th generation, my Airport extreme is 1st gen. I was wondering if I should upgrade? My wifi range isn't amazing, and the speed degrades the further I am, even with two current gen Airport Expresses acting as bridges around the house. Is it worth it to upgrade or is the one I have fine?
     
  2. tmagman macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Location:
    Calgary AB
    #2
    never hurts to get a new router once in a while. They are on 24/7 and no matter how well built, theres always going to be degration like any electronic device. I replaced my old D-Link DIR-655 about 8 months ago when it was starting to slow down and have the odd glitch requiring a hard reset, and that was a smart move. I switched to a AEBS but still keep the old D-Link sitting in my portable kit and is great for if i need to build a hotspot on the go at a LAN party or a friend's house (yes i'm that nerdy). Its never a crime to upgrade
     
  3. blevins321 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2010
    Location:
    Winnipeg, MB
    #3
    I think you should upgrade. When you use bridges, you actually decrease the available wireless bandwidth because of the cross connections that need to happen. You'd benefit greatly from the N wireless, too.
     
  4. Tadros86 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Tadros86

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #4
    Does anyone have any experience upgrading a first gen to a current gen? I'm wondering what the big differences are. I'm pretty sure my 1st gen has n capabilities.
     
  5. Tadros86 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Tadros86

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #5
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0_1 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A405 Safari/7534.48.3)

    Anyone else any thoughts?
     
  6. CWallace macrumors 603

    CWallace

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #6
    I've owned every gen of the AE and the 5th by far has been the most impressive in terms of performance and range. Compared to a 1st gen, it will probably be significant in terms of range and performance.
     
  7. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #7
    Here is a test by Anandtech that showed a big difference in performance with the new one.

    If you have the money and your existing setup is giving you marginal performance, it would say it is a good upgrade.
     
  8. mstrze, Dec 27, 2011
    Last edited: Dec 27, 2011

    mstrze macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    #8
    I bought the newest gen recently to replace my 4yo 1st gen. My main reason was for simultaneous dual-band operation, meaning I could have my speed-craving items on the faster 5GHz band and the slower items on the 2.4GHz band on one unit without using two devices as I was doing in the past. Now all of my items are on the same network AND operating at their top 'connection speeds'.

    This new model also seems to have a stronger signal and operates arguably faster too. :)
     
  9. DaveTheRave macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 22, 2003
    #9
    Don't fix it if it ain't broke is my first thought, but you might benefit from faster N-speeds, better security, better range, and being able to use 2 bands at the same time.
     

Share This Page