Airport Extreme network question.

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by kb2kuu, Mar 26, 2008.

  1. kb2kuu macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    #1
    I recently bought a new Airport extreme. I hard wired my Dell PC in directly and I am using my new Macbook Pro wirelessly. Both computers connect to the internet perfectly. The problem is I am not able to share files between computers or use my printer which is connected to my desktop PC. I was able to share files with my Linksys router but since I replaced it with the Airport I no longer see my shared folder. Also I have a wireless picture frame and I cant see my Windows PC with the frame anymore. Does anyone have any ideas? I already spent an hour on the phone with Apple tech support with no solution. Thanks in advance.
     
  2. weblogik macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    #2
    im having SAME exact issue let me know if you work it out :(
     
  3. JimmyDThing macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    #3
    Why not plug the printer directly into the AEBS? I don't know why you don't see your shared folder, however.
     
  4. Mott macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
  5. numbersyx macrumors 65816

    numbersyx

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2006
    #5
    I have almost the same set up as you (Dell to AEBS and MBP wirelessly) and have no problems in seeing sharing files (just click Network in the Finder to find it).

    You really want to switch the printer to the AEBS USB port to share it. My Printers work perfectly this way.
     
  6. kb2kuu thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    #6
    I plan on setting up the printer with the AEBS I just need to pick up a long enough USB cable but I would still like to be able to share files with my PC. When I look in finder it doesn't show my shared folder like it used to with the linksys router.
     
  7. kolax macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    #7
    Does the share folder pop up in the side bar at all and you just can't connect to it or does it not display at all?
     
  8. kb2kuu thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    #8
    If I open finder I can't see the shared folder or my desktop computer. I did get the wireless picture frame working. I just had to setup the frame to recognize the new router. I wonder if there is a setting in the router utility that isn't set correctly.
     
  9. skorpien macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    #9
    Could it be a firewall issue on the Dell? I know for my VAIO to see other computers, I had to play with the firewall permissions for my router on my AV software (had to add the IP of the TC to the trusted networks list).

    Just a thought.
     
  10. kb2kuu thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    #10
    I turned the windows firewall off completely but it still doesn't show up.
     
  11. skorpien macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    #11
    Mine wasn't an issue with the Windows firewall, but with a third party one (NAV/McAfee/etc.)

    Here's an interesting read that might answer your questions.

    Hope you figure it out :)
     
  12. kb2kuu thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    #12
    Just as an experiment I plugged the Linksys router back in and ran the the windows network wizard and it immediately recognized the Linksys router and setup the network. I can now see my computer in finder. This is where the issue lies. Windows doesn't recognize the Airport so it can't configure the file sharing. I just don't know what to do about it.
     
  13. kalex macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    #13
    lets start troubleshooting at lowest layer.

    what is the ip of your dell and ip of your wireless macbook pro?

    pm me if you want to chat over IM.


    Alex
     
  14. kb2kuu thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    #14
    Much thanks to kalax for resolving my issue. He discovered that my Mcafee firewall was blocking access to the Airport. The funny part is that I was unaware that Mcafee had its own firewall and was more than just Virus protection. Anyway thanks to all for the help.
    Rob
     

Share This Page