AirPort Extreme not working.

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by auptimus, Jul 26, 2014.

  1. auptimus macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    #1
    Hi guys,
    Please bear with me as I am new to Mac World. I bought one of those old AirPort Extreme (A1034). When it's plugged in to power, all the lights turn on and then off, but after that, nothing. Even if It stays plugged in to the power, no lights on.
    Any help will be appreciated.
    Thanks,
    Optimus.
     
  2. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #2
    It's possible that it's just burnt out. Does pressing and holding the reset button on the back cause the lights to blink? The middle light is the power light and it should remain on as long as the power is plugged in. Are you able to test it with another power supply?
     
  3. SandboxGeneral Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Orbiting a G-type Main Sequence Star
  4. auptimus thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    #4
    AirPort Extreme not working.

    Thanks for your replies. Here is exactly what happens when it's plugged to the power.
    - 3 lights on for few seconds then off
    - After 50 seconds, middle light blinks for a fraction of a second, then all lights on for a second and then all off.

    The power adapter works fine because I tested if with a tester.
     
  5. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #5
    Almost sounds like the capacitors in the Airport are bad.
     
  6. SandboxGeneral Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Orbiting a G-type Main Sequence Star
    #6
    Yeah, it sounds like it died the death. It's quite an old model. Probably time to get a new one.
     
  7. auptimus thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    #7
    AirPort Extreme not working.

    Looks like it's dead. If the problem is the capacitors, I can fix it. Pressed the reset, not lights. I bought it because it was very cheap ($4).
    Thanks for your help.
    Optimus.
     
  8. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #8
    If you do end up not wanting to fix it, you can still open it up and get an Airport Extreme card out of it that can be reused in older PowerPC based Macs.
     
  9. auptimus thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    #9
    AirPort Extreme not working.

    Intell, that's what I thought too. I thought the Airport Extreme card inside would fit on my Mac Pro, finally it does not.
     
  10. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #10
    It sadly will only fit into PowerPC Macs. You could keep it or resell it to another person who has a PowerPC Mac.
     

Share This Page