Airport Extreme or Linksys WRT610N???

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by Howard54, Dec 29, 2009.

1. Howard54 macrumors member

I am new to Mac and run predominantly Windows in my home but just purchased a new Mac Mini.

I need to upgrade my router and I am considering either the Airport Extreme or Linksys WRT610N.

Any help on using Airport in a mixed environment would be appreciated as well as the pros/cons of the two units under consideration.

Also, can the Airport be configured from a Windows PC or does it need to be configured through the Mac?

Thanks!

2. KnightWRX macrumors Pentium

KnightWRX

Both can be configured from Windows or Mac. However, the Linksys will have a web interface that's accessible from a browser, the Airport Extreme will have a configuration utility you need to install. This means that the Airport is limited to Windows or Mac while a linksys router can be configured from about anything with a browser.

However, I have an Airport Extreme and I find it very limiting. If you're going to do something very basic with it, share internet + wireless, either will fit the bill.

Me however, I'm already running DHCP and DNS off a server I have at home and the Airport software doesn't let you disable DHCP if you're going to use it to NAT connections on the Internet. It seems as soon as you want to break the mold a bit, the Airport just won't budge and requires kludge after kludge to make it behave.

The linksys is just more versatile in what kind of configurations it will let you do. I still use a WRT54G for NAT, my Airport Extreme is now just an Access Point + Airdisk for Time Machine.

3. cavemonkey50 macrumors 6502

Having used both routers (and currently using an AirPort Extreme), I would go with the AirPort Extreme. While the WRT610n is nice on paper, I had way too many issues with it:

- Using both the 2.4Ghz bands and 5Ghz bands at the same time would cause problems, constantly causing the router to crash and reboot.