Airport Extreme - power adapter

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by marekkurlmann, Sep 28, 2008.

  1. marekkurlmann macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    #1
    I live in Europe and want to pick up an Airport Extreme from the U.S. Important question: Does the American Airport Extreme's power adapter accept both 110/120- and 220/240-volt inputs. The adapter will likely have the voltage range printed right on it.

    Thanks a lot!
     
  2. avigalante macrumors 6502

    avigalante

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2007
    Location:
    New York City
    #2
    Yep, the American Airport Extreme AC adaptor supports 100-240V.

    Hope this helps!
     
  3. marekkurlmann thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    #3
    It certainly does...you answered my question. Thanks!
     
  4. malch macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    #4
    Just the thread I was looking for...

    I was just given an Airport Extreme base station (I think it's less than a year old but I don't know how to confirm this), that has the white brick half of the AC connection, but is missing the cord from the brick to the wall outlet.

    Having read the above posts, I rooted through a box in the basement, and came up with an old plug>figure-8 cable for my old powerbook G-4.

    Are they compatible? I googled, and it seems a company in California is selling these things, and does in fact state that what's good for the G4 powerbook is good for the Airport Extreme (and Express). I'd like the blessings of the gurus on this site before I actually plug the think in.

    In tiny printing, on the old powerbook cord, it says 125V 3A

    On the white brick of the Airport Extreme, it says (in small type):
    Input: 100-240V, 50-60Hz 0.5A

    Is this all good?
    Thanks, malch
     
  5. malch macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    #5
    Seems it is indeed the right cord.
    Cheers, malch
     

Share This Page