Airport extreme printer hookup

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by eclipse01, Jul 13, 2015.

  1. eclipse01 macrumors 68020

    eclipse01

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Location:
    Eau Claire, WI
    #1
    I have a printer that doesn't support air print, essentially i can hook it up to my APE to make airprint work with it right?
     
  2. Gav2k macrumors G3

    Gav2k

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    #2
    Depends really on the printer. Some will show up for basic printing functions others don't. The only way is to try.

    Make sure when your connecting the printer to the extreme both devices are switched off.
     
  3. eclipse01 thread starter macrumors 68020

    eclipse01

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Location:
    Eau Claire, WI
    #3
    Ok, will do
     
  4. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #4
    No. Your printer will function exactly as if it were directly connected except it is accessible over the network. You will not gain AirPrint capability.
     
  5. eclipse01 thread starter macrumors 68020

    eclipse01

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Location:
    Eau Claire, WI
    #5
    darn... I guess its back to using a 3rd party method to print from my iphone.

    WPS is set up so really no point in connecting it to APE
     
  6. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #6
    What model printer do you have? There are a few software solutions and a number of print servers you can use. Alternatively, if you by chance have an old Netgear router lying around you can use that as a print server for AirPrint on some models.
     
  7. eclipse01 thread starter macrumors 68020

    eclipse01

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Location:
    Eau Claire, WI
    #7
    Kodak 2170
     
  8. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #8
    Kodak Email Print service will work with iOS and Google Cloud Print would work with all other devices.
     
  9. eclipse01 thread starter macrumors 68020

    eclipse01

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Location:
    Eau Claire, WI
    #9
    yeah, i did see that as an option, just was really trying to get Airprint to work
     
  10. marzer macrumors 65816

    marzer

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Location:
    Colorado
    #10
    I've used this utility for years, works great, makes any printer show up as an AirPrint printer on your network.

    http://www.netputing.com/handyprint/
     
  11. eclipse01 thread starter macrumors 68020

    eclipse01

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Location:
    Eau Claire, WI
    #11
    mac only?

    I use Windows (for PC)

    thanks anyway
     
  12. eclipse01 thread starter macrumors 68020

    eclipse01

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Location:
    Eau Claire, WI
  13. marzer macrumors 65816

    marzer

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Location:
    Colorado
    #13
    I don't have a Windoze machine but maybe you can give this a try and report back the results...

    http://www.airprintactivation.com
     
  14. eclipse01 thread starter macrumors 68020

    eclipse01

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Location:
    Eau Claire, WI
    #14
    Interesting

    Thanks!
     
  15. eclipse01 thread starter macrumors 68020

    eclipse01

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Location:
    Eau Claire, WI
    #15
    I ended up getting airprint to work by using my Linux server and creating a "CUPS" server. Google it if you are interested, works very well!
     
  16. Donfor39 macrumors 6502a

    Donfor39

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2012
    Location:
    Lanarkshire Scotland
    #16
    search for Guitenprint -ive got a basic Epson x100 printing wirelessly via aes

    Guitenprint supports loads of printers including Kodak -handyprint works well via iPhone.

    (i'm unable to get printer and external hdd working with usb hub)
     

Share This Page