Airport Extreme problems!

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by bored911, Aug 9, 2007.

  1. bored911 macrumors 6502

    bored911

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2007
    Location:
    NYC
    #1
    ok, i did an archive and install, but now my macbook can't dectect the base station. Any ideas, i've tried using the airport utility, but it can't even dectect it. as you can tell it still works, as i am writing this through my mom's (my old) ibook G4
     
  2. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #2
    Give us more background information. Why did you run an Archive & Install? What type of security settings do you have on the Extreme? Is it a new Extreme, or one of the older models? :)
     
  3. bored911 thread starter macrumors 6502

    bored911

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2007
    Location:
    NYC
    #3
    i ran an archive and install to fix a disc burning problem. i have wep on it, and i can get the network, but it doesn't show up in the airport utility and the internet doesn't work. i have the newest extreme
     
  4. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #4
    So now it can detect the network? Excellent. Are you connected to it now according to the AirPort icon in your Menu Bar?
     
  5. bored911 thread starter macrumors 6502

    bored911

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2007
    Location:
    NYC
    #5
    yes, full strength
     
  6. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #6
    Sweet. In the Network pane of System Preferences, click on AirPort and check your DHCP settings. Make sure they match the iBook's settings. :)
     
  7. bored911 thread starter macrumors 6502

    bored911

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2007
    Location:
    NYC
    #7
    ok, sorry, my comp ate a dvd, lol.

    ok first when i'm in the general network page, all i see is airport and then "airport is connected to the network *****. Airport has a self-assigned IP address and may not be able to connect to the Internet."


    then the ip address is wrong the subnet mask on the ibook is 255.255.255.0 but on the macbook it is 255.255.0.0. finally there is no router on the macbook
     
  8. bored911 thread starter macrumors 6502

    bored911

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2007
    Location:
    NYC
    #8
    woah! just realized something, could it be due to a software update, cause that would really blow
     
  9. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #9
    It might be an update, but... Double click on the AirPort and it'll take you to a list of different settings. Do the same on the iBook and compare the settings under the TCP/IP tab. :)
     
  10. bored911 thread starter macrumors 6502

    bored911

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2007
    Location:
    NYC
    #10
    that's what i was giving you info from. the only other thing i see is that the ipv5 address is different
     
  11. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #11
    Have you clicked Renew DHCP Lease? Mate, it might be easier if you post a screenshot for both Macs. :)
     
  12. bored911 thread starter macrumors 6502

    bored911

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2007
    Location:
    NYC
    #12
    ok, hold on, i need to dig out a firewire

    EDIT: damn! i can't find one
     
  13. bored911 thread starter macrumors 6502

    bored911

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2007
    Location:
    NYC
    #13
    ok, i'm going to type out everything as i would really like my internet back, lol.


    Configure IPv4: Using DHCP

    IP Address: 169.254.98.19

    Subnet Mask: 255.255.0.0

    DHCP Client ID: (blank)

    DNS Servers: (blank)

    Search Domain: (blank)

    IPv6 Address: fe80:0000:0000:0000:0217:f2ff:fe49:076e




    [​IMG]
     
  14. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #14
    So the second one is the iBook? It looks like the two machines are connected to separate networks.
     
  15. bored911 thread starter macrumors 6502

    bored911

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2007
    Location:
    NYC
  16. bored911 thread starter macrumors 6502

    bored911

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2007
    Location:
    NYC
    #16
    i won't be able to respond 'till tomorrow, but thanks for all your help so far, hope i can get it up and running soon
     

Share This Page