Airport Extreme Remote setup possbile?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by 199708, May 31, 2009.

  1. 199708 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    #1
    My old man just bought a Airport Extreme base station, and is having trouble setting up his internet, printer and wireless and secure it so no one can access it.

    Since I'm in another country, is it possible to access the settings on the router using my airport utility on my mac, when he gives me his IP address/password?

    His setup up consists of 2desktops, 2 wireless devices and a HP laser USB printer.

    any help on remote setup would be helpful.
     
  2. J&JPolangin macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    Location:
    Thule GL @ the TOW
    #2
    ...the airport utility really walks you thru the setup, call him while he's doing the setup on his net as he probably won't be able to find the IP address and other info you'd need to remote into his setup...
     
  3. 199708 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    #3
    Problem is I don't know what the Airport Extreme setup looks like in Airport Utility. So i cannot direct him through it.

    Ok, desktop computers are online, it just worked. but wireless settings & printer dont work.
    I have IP, he went to www.whatismyip.com.


    hope im not going to be like this when im :(
     
  4. skorpien macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
  5. 199708 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    #5
    Cheers for that, have my brother going over to setup part of it.
    I like the the idea that its possible to control remotely.
    Might have to invest in a time capsule for my self :)
     

Share This Page