AirPort Extreme + sbg6580 bridge mode

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by hexon, Dec 11, 2013.

  1. hexon macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    #1
  2. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #2
  3. hexon thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    #3
    Unfortunately no. Part of the problem is that they just updated their firmware so it's impossible to directly follow any of the current guides out there. I've gone as far as putting the MAC address for the airport's ethernet, 2.4 ghz, and 5 ghz into MAC pass through, placing the gateway mode to bridge, turning off wifi radio and wifi network, and turning off DHCP. After nothing works I always have to reset the modem in order to get back into the admin page to change stuff.
     
  4. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #4
    Ahhh... I see. There is a Moto specific forum at DSL reports. Try posting there and maybe specify in the title it seems different with the new firmware.

    http://www.dslreports.com/forum/motorola
     
  5. hexon thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    #5
    Figured it out! The new firmware for the sbg6580 actually makes it easier to set up bridge mode. You only need to turn off the wifi radio and set the gateway mode to bridged. The problem was that the airport extreme's default settings were bridged mode. I changed it to DHCP and NAT and it worked.
     
  6. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #6
    Oh good! Glad you got it worked out. :)
     
  7. Fletchlives macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014
    #7
    AirPort Extreme + sbg6580 bridge mode

    Hey Hexon, I'm having the exact same issue right now. I've had to keep resetting the Motorola over and over again.

    Can you quickly do a breakdown of the steps to solve it? That would be awesome.

    Thanks!
     

Share This Page