Airport Extreme Set Up

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking' started by markoid63, Jun 20, 2018.

  1. markoid63 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 21, 2013
    #1
    I really would appreciate some help. I have a 5th Gen Airport Extreme that I am connecting to a Belkin modem/router, and I am really struggling with the settings I need to put into the Extreme. I want to have the Extreme do the work of controlling the NAT's, but I don't know what I need to disable in my modem, and then the correct settings in the Extreme. When I have set DHCP and NAT mode, I get the double NAT error, which I've read so many opinions about. What do I need to disable in the modem to stop this happening? I have run the Extreme in Bridge mode without a problem, but it seems such a waste of its technology to have it work just in bridge mode. Even if someone could point me at a very detailed set up procedure because the Apple manual gives you next to nothing, and even online I'm struggling to find what I need.
     
  2. techwarrior macrumors 65816

    techwarrior

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Location:
    Colorado
    #2
    What is the Belkin Modem\router model? There should be manuals online to assist with that configuration.

    On AP Extreme, the Network tab Router Mode should be set to "DHCP and NAT". The Wireless tab Network Mode should be "Create a Wireless Network". The Internet tab is generally just setting Connect Using to DHCP. Some ISP use PPOE or assign static IP, if yours uses one of these you will need to consult their setup guide.
     
  3. markoid63, Jun 20, 2018
    Last edited: Jun 21, 2018

    markoid63 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 21, 2013
    #3
    --- Post Merged, Jun 20, 2018 ---
    It is a Belkin N600 AC. So is it DHCP I disable in modem for it to work as just a modem and not router as well? Also, should I turn off wifi on modem so AP is only wifi working?
    Thanks for your help
     
  4. markoid63 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 21, 2013
    #4
    Well I set the AP Extreme to DHCP & NAT, disabled the DHCP on the modem, but I then lose internet connection, and can't connect back to modem without doing a total reset. I'm at a total loss, is there something else I should disable on the modem like the wifi or what?
     
  5. techwarrior macrumors 65816

    techwarrior

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Location:
    Colorado
    #5
    I can't find any solutions for putting the Belkin n600 in Bridge Mode. It may not support that configuration? In fact, the only references I find to that model is a router without a modem. Do you have a separate modem? If so, just pull the Belkin out of the mix and hook the Airport directly to the modem and set it up in DHCP + NAT mode to be your router.
     

Share This Page

4 June 20, 2018