Airport Extreme / Time Capsule - Wireless?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by iWoz, Jul 25, 2011.

  1. iWoz macrumors 6502a

    iWoz

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Location:
    East Midlands, U.K
    #1
    Do any of Apples connectivity devices have a wireless access points built in? Seems a bit rubbish having to buy a wireless router seperately to plug in to these devices just so you can have wireless connectivity throughout the house? I would of thought Apple would of been on top of there game with this one
     
  2. psxguru macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 19, 2006
    #2
    Erm they are routers? (wired and wireless)

    They don't have a modem though (ADSL or cable)
     
  3. iWoz thread starter macrumors 6502a

    iWoz

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Location:
    East Midlands, U.K
    #3
    Yes sorry thats what I meant - No modem...which is a shame
     
  4. al2o3cr macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009
    #4
    Why is that a shame? There are a bajillion different sorts of carrier systems that such a device would need to interface to - everything from DSL to cable to fiber. Why on EARTH would you want to wind up with a device that become obsolete when you move to a different provider?
     
  5. iWoz thread starter macrumors 6502a

    iWoz

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Location:
    East Midlands, U.K
    #5
    Why would it become obsolete when moving providers ust by having a modem built in?
     

Share This Page