AirPort Extreme/Time Capsule work with MSN, Skype?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by ramb27, Jun 17, 2008.

  1. ramb27 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Location:
    toronto.on.ca
    #1
    I am interested in getting a Time Capsule for Time Machine backups. Also our current Netgear wireless g router is on its last legs.

    I have heard MSN Messenger and Skype do not work with AirPort Extreme/Time Capsule without complex workarounds because it does not support UPnP and even then ureliable. Is this true? We use MSN and Skype on both Leopard and Win XP as well as the Philips VOIP841 Skype phone extensively.

    Appreciate if someone can confirm.

    TIA.
     
  2. ramb27 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Location:
    toronto.on.ca
    #2
    Bump!

    Anyone using Skype and MSN Messenger for Mac behind an AirPort Extreme or Time Capsule?
     
  3. zer0tails macrumors 65816

    zer0tails

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Location:
    Canada
    #3
    really? Never used msn. But I've skyped without problem on my time capsule before.
     
  4. ramb27 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Location:
    toronto.on.ca
    #4
    Thanks zer0tails. At least I know one out two is working well now.

    Anyone else with MSN experience behind Time Capsule?
     
  5. hookem12387 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    #5
    Skype works great with my airport extreme. However, QoS would be helpful for the times when my roommate is torrenting
     
  6. skorpien macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    #6
    MSN Messenger works fine through Time Capsule too.
     
  7. ramb27 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Location:
    toronto.on.ca
    #7
    Thank you both skorpien and hookem12387. Glad to find out bot Skype and MSN work without problems.
     

Share This Page