Resolved Airport Extreme transmit rate

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking' started by Tex-Twil, Oct 4, 2016.

  1. Tex-Twil macrumors 68020

    Tex-Twil

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Location:
    Berlin
    #1
    Hi,
    I have the 802.11ac Airport Extreme that is supposed to have theoretical 1300 Mbps transmit rate but mine emits only at 450Mbps.

    Any ideas why it's "locked" to 450Mbps?

    PS: I am talking about the theoretical max data rate, not the actual one.

    [​IMG]
     
  2. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #2
    What client device is this with? It looks like you are only connected at 40MHz which will limit your speeds.

    Here is a screenshot of my rMBP on 5GHz and 80MHz channel width.

    Screen Shot 2016-10-04 at 12.10.01 PM.png
     
  3. satcomer macrumors 603

    satcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Location:
    The Finger Lakes Region
    #3
    It's because your AC range channel must be in Hundred channels to get true AC speed!
     
  4. Tex-Twil thread starter macrumors 68020

    Tex-Twil

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Location:
    Berlin
    #4
    What does that mean? Can I set this in the AP Extreme settings?

    From the specs http://www.apple.com/airport-extreme/specs/ I see

    But I don't remember seeing 100+ channel on the Wireless options on the AP Extreme

    cheers
     
  5. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #5
    The issue is you are not connected on a 80Mhz channel that is required to achieve the higher speeds. Read this article.

    Again, what client device is this?
     
  6. Tex-Twil thread starter macrumors 68020

    Tex-Twil

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Location:
    Berlin
    #6
  7. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #7
    Join the wifi network then option key click the wifi radar thingy in the menu bar and you will see my screenshot. Then do shift-command-4 and mouse sweep a screenshot of that and post it up here for us to see.

    Do you have 5Ghz wireless settings set to Auto in Airport Utility?
     
  8. Tex-Twil, Oct 5, 2016
    Last edited: Oct 5, 2016

    Tex-Twil thread starter macrumors 68020

    Tex-Twil

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Location:
    Berlin
    #8
    so now the WifiScanner shows correctly the supported Max Data Rate (Theoretical) 1300Mbps as expected.

    [​IMG]

    The theoretical tx rate of the connection is also close to 1300 Mbps

    [​IMG]



    So all sorted ;)

    this was useful
     

Share This Page