Airport Extreme- Very disappointed! Low range and buzz noise

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by jcmendes, Feb 8, 2013.

  1. jcmendes, Feb 8, 2013
    Last edited: Feb 19, 2013

    jcmendes macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012
    Location:
    Portugal
    #1
    I'm very disappointed with this airpor, bought to match everything in my house APPLE (ipad..ATV, MBP...etc). Simply the range of this router is quite inferior from my IPS router that provides my internet.

    My house has 3 floors, the IPS router reaches the top floor with no problem, this EXTREME does not pass the second floor...very very poor range!!!

    I will return, first product that disappointed me from apple :(:(:(:( . An expensive product
     
  2. SandboxGeneral Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Orbiting a G-type Main Sequence Star
    #2
    Is it at least a second generation AEBS with wireless N and is it enabled?
     
  3. jcmendes thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012
    Location:
    Portugal
    #3
    I am from Portugal the router IPS INTERNET provider is here: In portugueses, but maybe you undestand same universal especifications:

    http://pplware.sapo.pt/truques-dicas/analise-my-hub-o-router-da-zon/4/

    I did several configurations in the airpor..mas nothing results, i think the range is simple lower!

    The airport EXTREME is the last 5 generation
     
  4. davidoloan macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2009
    #4
    It was no more powerful than our ISP router, but it is infinitely easier to configure, extremely easy to extend with airport expresses (which is a much nicer solution than trying to use one router in a large house), you can now update the firmware from your iPad with one click (did that last night on four of them which are connected together) and it works much better for homesharing than many higher spec other brands.

    I think it is a great router.

    Oh, and it's very reliable; hardware and software.
     
  5. Enzedder macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    #5
    Stand it on its edge?

    Try standing the Extreme on its side and see if the coverage upstairs improves?
    I often mount these on a wall and the range seems to improve at this angle.
    YMMV. :)

     
  6. brentsg macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    #6
    I've never had any issues with the AEBS in my home. The unit is in my finished basement and it easily provides coverage to the 2 floors above that.

    They're a dream of dependability compared to most of the wireless devices that I've used over the years.
     
  7. jcmendes thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012
    Location:
    Portugal
    #7
    Well, before sending back, today ordered a airport EXPRESS, is much more expensive this package (extreme+ express), but we'll see if it gets really good signal..op so!!


    see if everything is paired this time and how it should be!
     
  8. blueroom macrumors 603

    blueroom

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #8
    Different countries have different WiFi regulations, so one countries power output isn't necessarily the same as another.

    Also 5GHz will have slightly less range than 2.4GHz
     
  9. davidoloan macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2009
    #9
    If you do extend your network wirelessly, you will have to experiment on positioning both the Extreme and Express to get the best result. You have to position the Express at the outer reach of the Extreme but where it can still get a good strong signal from the Extreme, then it will extend that signal further.

    Ideally,if you can run an ethernet cable between the two you will get no loss of performance with the the Express.

    Here are the two guides :

    http://support.apple.com/kb/HT4260
    http://support.apple.com/kb/HT4259
     
  10. MonkeySee.... macrumors 68040

    MonkeySee....

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #10
    I have an AEBS only got it last year. How would I "Enable" this feature?

    I live in a flat and my iPad buffers all the time when using home sharing and i'm wondering if there is something wrong.

    I have 51mb connection.

    Thanks for the advice.
     
  11. SandboxGeneral Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Orbiting a G-type Main Sequence Star
    #11
    Using AirPort Utility 5.6, browse to the Wireless section and ensure the Radio Mode is selected with what you want, likely automatic mode.

    Here are the options:

     
  12. MonkeySee.... macrumors 68040

    MonkeySee....

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #12
    Thats cool. Thanks. :)
     
  13. whosnut macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    Location:
    Riverside, CA
    #13
  14. cocacolakid macrumors 65816

    cocacolakid

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Location:
    Chicago
    #14
  15. jcmendes thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012
    Location:
    Portugal
    #15
    Recently I noticed a noise electronic type tsss tsss when we use the net. Is it normal?

    In the extreme.
     
  16. SandboxGeneral Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Orbiting a G-type Main Sequence Star
    #16
  17. jcmendes thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012
    Location:
    Portugal
    #17
    Thanks sandbox, tomorrow I'll call the Apple store here in Portugal and how I'm still within the 15 days exchange, I'll ask to send me another. So this is not typical noise
     
  18. davidoloan macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2009
    #18
    It is normal.

    I have 2. They both do it but not all the time.

    I have never noticed the Express doing it.
     
  19. SandboxGeneral Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Orbiting a G-type Main Sequence Star
    #19
    I don't consider it normal. Normal to me would be that it makes the noise by design; it being intended to produce it. I have an AEBS and it doesn't do this. Additionally, with Apple's knack for trying to make their products as quiet as possible, this would seem counter-productive to one of their goals.
     
  20. davidoloan macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2009
    #20
    OK but I have heard plenty of others doing it and mine have operated perfectly since they came out while making the sound.
     
  21. jcmendes thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012
    Location:
    Portugal
    #21
    ok, tomorrow's replacement arrives, I ordered came today.

    then i give feedback
     
  22. jcmendes thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012
    Location:
    Portugal
    #22
    already reached the new. seems also makes the same noise .... maybe a little less .. but it does. apparently is not defective but temper.

    what a shame! But I'll stay with him, since I have 2 more express
     

Share This Page