Airport Extreme vs Time Capsule

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by illegalprelude, Dec 5, 2008.

  1. illegalprelude macrumors 68000

    illegalprelude

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    #1
    A quick question, if money is not an issue, is there a downside from choosing the Time Capsule over the Airport Extreme Base Stations?

    Just the router scenario in this case.
     
  2. woodbird25 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    #2
    The only big difference between the 2 is that a time capsule is an airport extreme with a hard drive in it for network storage. Hope this helps
     
  3. deorg macrumors 6502

    deorg

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    #3
    I own a time capsule, and it works great for me, the old airport extreme is in some box around the house, Its very handy to have a lot of hard drive space
     
  4. bigjnyc macrumors 601

    bigjnyc

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    #4
    no downside at all, its basically the same mechanism and the hard drive in the time capsule does not interfere with the wireless aspect. I upgraded to the time capsule from an airport extreme and it works great.
     
  5. illegalprelude thread starter macrumors 68000

    illegalprelude

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    #5
    Thanks alot you guys because, yea I was also under the impression that its the same device, but didnt know because of the added hardware, if there was any issues like less signal strength etc.

    Thanks a bunch as always :)
     
  6. mpshay macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    #6
    I've sort of been waiting for refurb airport extreme but based on the comments above I may just go ahead and grab one of the 500GB time capsules in the refurb store
     
  7. SnowLeopard2008 macrumors 604

    SnowLeopard2008

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Location:
    Silicon Valley

Share This Page