airport help on g4/g5

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by mrnice420, Feb 23, 2009.

  1. mrnice420 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    #1
    hello, i have a g4 dual 1.25 ghz with airport extreme card in it. i recently bought a powermac g5 dual 2.3ghz. i tried to swap the airport card into the g5, but when i did that, the computer did not want to scan and pick up any networks. is this because i need an extra antenna? moreover, when i put the airport card back into the g4, the computer no longer see's it. i know its firmly plugged in.... what i would like to do is have the g5 use the airport card, but help on how to get the g4 to recognize it again would also be helpful. any help would be appreciated.
     
  2. BlueRevolution macrumors 603

    BlueRevolution

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #2
    Did you really need to make a new thread for this?

    As you were told in the other thread, you will need to purchase an external antenna in order to use the AirPort Extreme card with your Power Mac G5.
     
  3. mrnice420 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    #3
    granted. but why does the g4 not recognize the airport card when i put it back in??
     
  4. BlueRevolution macrumors 603

    BlueRevolution

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
  5. mrnice420 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    #5
    yes. and after reinstalling it about 3 times it finally worked. i ordered the pci express card from newegg, so then both machines can go online. thanks
     

Share This Page