Airport issues with Leopard?

AJ Muni

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Aug 4, 2005
1,145
17
Miami
I installed leopard on my mbp a couple of days ago (gold master, duh) and for some reason the airport keeps dropping my current connection. Not just my connection, but also when I jump on my neighbors connection. The airport connection completely loses all the signal bars, but then in about 6-8 seconds they light back up, and I get online again. Also when I click the airport icon on the menu bar, it only shows the connection i'm currently on, no other networks around me. Again it's weird because say I jump on my neighbors, when I click the airport icon I dont even see my routers ssid on there, and my router is 3 feet from me. It's also happening on my gf's macbook, so I'm sure it's not my antenna. I've treid repairing permissions, all that good stuff and no dice. Anyone else having this issue?
 

Veritas&Equitas

macrumors 68000
Oct 31, 2005
1,529
1
Twin Cities, MN
Yeah, my issue with Airport + Leopard is that whenever I restart my MBP, it simply won't reconnect to my home network automatically; I have to select it every time I boot up. Kind of annoying.
 

techound1

macrumors 68000
Mar 3, 2006
1,977
7
My airport connection keeps dropping out (both the ap connection to the network and the networks connection to the internet). I have to turn ap off and then on again to get a connection back. Wicked annoying.
 

Mpalmieri809

macrumors newbie
Oct 12, 2007
9
0
Yeah, my issue with Airport + Leopard is that whenever I restart my MBP, it simply won't reconnect to my home network automatically; I have to select it every time I boot up. Kind of annoying.
I'm having similar issues....I also notice that airport disk utility is gone....The airdisk has worked 100% since my install yesterday....I kept having disconnects all the time since the last firmware..
 

goofymatt

macrumors newbie
Oct 27, 2007
1
0
Me Too

I just installed Leopard yesterday (Friday) I have had the same issues, with my airport losing signal about every 5 minutes.

I never had this issue with Tiger, and currently, the only way for me to deal with it is to:

Click the airport icon in the toolbar

turn airport OFF

Turn airport ON

Then it recognizes the signal

Furthermore, forget what I said about every 5 minutes . . . it has now shut off twice as I type this message!

Does anyone know how to resolve this?
 

panzer06

macrumors 68040
Sep 23, 2006
3,025
82
Kilrath
Yeah, my issue with Airport + Leopard is that whenever I restart my MBP, it simply won't reconnect to my home network automatically; I have to select it every time I boot up. Kind of annoying.
I had the same issue on my old G4 powerbook when I upgraded to Tiger. A clean install fixed the problem.

Don't know if that's the issue here but it's work a quick SuperDuper clone and fresh install to find out.

Cheers,
 

techound1

macrumors 68000
Mar 3, 2006
1,977
7
I just installed Leopard yesterday (Friday) I have had the same issues, with my airport losing signal about every 5 minutes.
As I battle through the same problem, I ran the airport utility and updated the firmware on the base stations. I also turned off IPV6, since my system doesn't support it. These two act seems to have settled the problem down to once every half hour or so (or, it's totally unrelated... :eek:).

Next on my list is to repair permissions and keop digging for things to try.
 

meagain

macrumors 68030
Nov 18, 2006
2,563
24
I kept having disconnects all the time since the last firmware..
OMG - The Firmware upgrade! Doh! I was blaming it on other things (torrents). I started having issues around the time I upgraded. Thanks for posting this.

I had a few blowouts also when transferring large amts of data from the external to the imac after Leopard install. I also show the Extreme under 'Shared' in the finder which never appeared there pre-Leopard. ????
 

techound1

macrumors 68000
Mar 3, 2006
1,977
7
I did a clean install of 10.5 and it didn't help the intermittent connection.

[Edit: the below mentioned keychain update did the trick!]
 

Veritas&Equitas

macrumors 68000
Oct 31, 2005
1,529
1
Twin Cities, MN
Well since the Airport software update that Apple just released a few hours ago, I don't seem to be having any of the same problems I was earlier. Keeping my fingers crossed :rolleyes:
 

meagain

macrumors 68030
Nov 18, 2006
2,563
24
A new update eh? Hmmm.....

aswitcher - I see mine fine. Been running well actually.
 

sblasl

macrumors 6502a
Apr 25, 2004
844
0
Heber Springs, AR
Well since the Airport software update that Apple just released a few hours ago, I don't seem to be having any of the same problems I was earlier. Keeping my fingers crossed :rolleyes:
Apple Login & Keychain Update:
The Login & Keychain Update 1.0 for Mac OS X 10.5 Leopard is recommended for all Leopard installations. It addresses issues you may encounter when:

Logging in with an account originally created in Mac OS X 10.1 or earlier that has a password of 8 or more characters.
Connecting to some 802.11b/g wireless networks.
Changing the password of a FileVault-protected account.
 

rosh325

macrumors regular
Jul 13, 2007
169
0
In the ether
To preface, my ability to connect to 3rd party routers during tiger was iffy at best after the 10.4.10 update. Still, I crossed my fingers in the hope that Leopard would fix it.

Enter Leopard: Every time I start my computer, I am greeted by a "none of your preferred networks were found". The network I am trying to connect to is an open network...and it does not show up on the list. I open up iStumbler and I can see my network, the one that the built in wi-fi cannot. I have tried shutting my airport off and on with no luck. My only work around is to find my network in iStumbler, and use it's built in "connect" command. After doing so, I am connected without problem. WTF leopard?
 

ViveLeLivre

macrumors regular
Sep 24, 2006
147
0
For those who can see their wireless network...

...but can't reach the internet after Leopard's Airport firmware update: reset your Airport to factory settings.

Not sure how you do that on the Airport Express, but on the Airport Extreme:

1) Record your Airport configuration if needed.
2) Unplug the power.
3) Grab a paperclip and while pressing the reset button down with the paper clip, plug the Airport back in.
4) When the LED starts flashing release the reset button.
5) Reconfigure the Airport.

Worked for me and some others on the Apple support forums. Might even fix other odd Airport behavior. Good luck.

(I should add that Airport Utility kept losing the Base station before I did this, and restoring the Extreme to factory defaults fixed this too.)
 

illitrate23

macrumors 6502a
Jun 11, 2004
562
124
uk
although - if my imac can't connect to my airport base station, how can i download the update that might fix this problem :) :)

time to bring the laptop through and set up internet sharing via an ethernet cable i guess... lets see if that solves it....
 

takatalvi

macrumors newbie
Oct 25, 2007
3
0
Colorado Springs
...but can't reach the internet after Leopard's Airport firmware update: reset your Airport to factory settings.

Not sure how you do that on the Airport Express, but on the Airport Extreme:

1) Record your Airport configuration if needed.
2) Unplug the power.
3) Grab a paperclip and while pressing the reset button down with the paper clip, plug the Airport back in.
4) When the LED starts flashing release the reset button.
5) Reconfigure the Airport.

Worked for me and some others on the Apple support forums. Might even fix other odd Airport behavior. Good luck.

(I should add that Airport Utility kept losing the Base station before I did this, and restoring the Extreme to factory defaults fixed this too.)
I installed !0.5 yesterday and ran into the exact same problems with Airport. My solution was to reset my Airport Base Station to Factory and redo my home network and I haven't had any problems since.
 

ndriver182

macrumors 6502a
Jun 26, 2007
552
1
Apple Login & Keychain Update:
The Login & Keychain Update 1.0 for Mac OS X 10.5 Leopard is recommended for all Leopard installations. It addresses issues you may encounter when:

Logging in with an account originally created in Mac OS X 10.1 or earlier that has a password of 8 or more characters.
Connecting to some 802.11b/g wireless networks.
Changing the password of a FileVault-protected account.
I'm wary of this update. I did it just before going to bed last night and magically when the computer restarted my Mac Pro all the sudden has "No AirPort card installed" even though it was working fine during the whole time I've been running Leopard and the few months prior to Leopard running 10.4. Somebody else in the Mac Pro section had the same problem and re-installed.

Can you just do an upgrade install of Leopard over the existing Leopard so I don't have to wipe and re-install everything?
 

tonysony

macrumors newbie
Oct 28, 2007
4
0
Easy fix? Could someone try this before doing a reinstall?

I know this may be an unrelated issue but it deals with wireless nonetheless and is a lot less work..

As explained in the thread referred to by the link below.."the issue can be dealt with by finding and removing the AppleAirPort2.kext file from your Extensions folder, located here:

Macintosh HD:System:Library:Extensions"

My friend could not even get his card to be recognized by his Powerbook and after moving/deleting this file, everything came around on the next reboot. Perhaps the connectivity issues are somehow related?

Just a thought.

Tony

http://discussions.apple.com/thread.jspa?threadID=1199706&tstart=0
 

bigbigbob

macrumors newbie
Sep 14, 2007
27
0
I know this may be an unrelated issue but it deals with wireless nonetheless and is a lot less work..

As explained in the thread referred to by the link below.."the issue can be dealt with by finding and removing the AppleAirPort2.kext file from your Extensions folder, located here:

Macintosh HD:System:Library:Extensions"

My friend could not even get his card to be recognized by his Powerbook and after moving/deleting this file, everything came around on the next reboot. Perhaps the connectivity issues are somehow related?

Just a thought.

Tony

http://discussions.apple.com/thread.jspa?threadID=1199706&tstart=0

DUDE BIG BIG THANK YOU!!!

I was just about to go back and do a clean install on my 24" iMac when I found this on my iPhone! Worked Perfectly! THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU!!! :):):):):):):):)
 

ltud

macrumors newbie
Jun 8, 2004
26
0
I had the same problems with disconnects, it was terrible, I couldn't even stay on long enough to download the updetes. Fortunately they resume, so I finally got them (took half-a-day), and I haven't had any problems since, so I suspect that the keychain update fixed the issue for me.
 

Similar threads

  • scouser75
6
Replies
6
Views
215
  • johne999
2
Replies
2
Views
159
  • RalphTomaccio
1
Replies
1
Views
337
Register on MacRumors! This sidebar will go away, and you'll see fewer ads.