AirPort on campus Help!

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by RQPS, Aug 21, 2008.

  1. RQPS macrumors regular

    RQPS

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    #1
    What am I doing wrong? I have plugged my Airport express into the ethernet port in my room, my computer finds it but the internet does not work. I went though the set up assistant and diagnosis neither fixed the problem? I have used my express at home for years and never had a problem setting it up. Is there something I have to change to get it to work here on campus?
     
  2. soberbrain macrumors 65816

    soberbrain

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    #2
    Depends if your campus network is set up to allow residents to set up wireless networks. I'd check with your IT department.
     
  3. TEG macrumors 604

    TEG

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Location:
    Langley, Washington
    #3
    What does the IP address say in the Internet Tab on the APX? Do you have it in Bridge mode or Share an Address mode?

    TEG
     
  4. RQPS thread starter macrumors regular

    RQPS

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    #4
    They are because I am picking up like 6 of my neighbors but they are all locked.
     
  5. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #5
    You have to use bridge mode in the Internet tab.

    Also some campus networks require you to register your computer--well you need to register the Airport MAC address as well.
     
  6. RQPS thread starter macrumors regular

    RQPS

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    #6
    I think thats the problem something with the IP address because I plugged my computer in to first set it on campus but now I am trying to get on with a different IP address through the airport. How do I bridge them or link them?
     
  7. TEG macrumors 604

    TEG

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Location:
    Langley, Washington
    #7
    It is actually the MAC address that takes care of it. Try going thought the setup process again while connected to the network.

    TEG
     
  8. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #8
    [​IMG]
     
  9. EricNau Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #9
    IP address or MAC address? The IP address is automatically assigned to your computer by the school's DHCP servers. Your MAC address, on the other hand, may need to be registered with the school's IT dept. before you can gain access to their network. Even if you already registered the MAC address for your computer, you'll have to register the MAC address for your Express as well.
     
  10. RQPS thread starter macrumors regular

    RQPS

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    #10
    Thanks alot let me try and turn on bridge mode.
     
  11. RQPS thread starter macrumors regular

    RQPS

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    #11
    Didn't work, I don't have that bridge mode I am using an Airport Express
     
  12. EricNau Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #12
    The airport express has that option. Although, it might look a little different than the screenshot above.
     

Share This Page