Airport overwrote the Network on our PC

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by Rahsten, Oct 16, 2008.

1. Rahsten macrumors regular

Rahsten

I think?

I'm new to this wireless thing. My wife and I are sitting here trying to figure it out. She's on PC (Sony VAIO) and I'm on a MacBook. She successfully managed to setup her PC to access wirelessly through our router. It's her Dad's computer and in his house so we decided to set it up first to establish the network. I thought me being on a Mac that I would have no problems. I was wrong.

I went into Sys Pref>Network, clicked on Airport, turned it on and used the assistant to connect. When the list of networks showed up there were 3, Apple Network 74450d (no pass required), AirPort (pass required) and anpanman (pass required). I asked my wife what the network name was and she said, 'I dunno.' So, using the password from our provider i just tried the 2 that required passwords and failed to connect. Then I tried the Apple Network that didn't require a password...I joined successfully and immediately after doing so, the connection on the PC disappeared and we can't reconnect wirelessly on either of the computers.

I'm not sure what I did but would like to know how to undo it, lol. Right now my wife is going through the wireless network setup on her PC again, is that a step in the right direction? This time she managed to tell me some Network name too. But it's nothing like any of the names that showed up before, and she says she didn't set it up as a closed network.

Anyways, if anyone understands this and can give me some insight to our problem I'd greatly appreciate it.

2. belvdr macrumors 603

You need to know the SSID before you can connect. It may very well be that she connected to some ad-hoc computer-to-computer network. You need to check that router and see what the SSID of it is.

3. Rahsten thread starter macrumors regular

Rahsten