Airport problems beyond belief

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by djellison, May 8, 2009.

  1. djellison macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Location:
    Pasadena CA
    #1
    I had a netgear wireless ADSL router, and plugged in via Cat 5 - a time capsule.

    The Netgear makes one wireless network with MAC white listing so no WPA etc.

    The TC makes a different wireless network which has a WPA. They are on different channels. I wish to connect my Unibody Macbook to the TC's network.

    Here is a typical experience.

    Typical morning.
    It's 07:15
    £300 Samsung NC10 Laptop with a Dell WiFi Card in it.
    Finds our TC Wifi Network
    Connects
    Works fine, reliably.
    Turn it off.

    Power up Unibody Macbook.
    AP not connected
    Click Icon
    5 Networks show, including one of ours (NG but not TC)
    Click it again
    4 Networks show, neither of ours
    Click Join Other Network
    Click Show Networks
    5 Networks show, including one of ours. (NG but not TC)
    Load Istumbler
    7 Networks show, including both of ours, with Signals of 72 and 66% (twice the strength of any other network, and both of different channels to any other networks)
    Quit iStumbler
    Click AP icon
    Click Join Other Network
    Click Show Networks
    4 Networks show, including none of ours
    Turn airport off
    Turn airport on
    Click Icon
    5 Networks show, including one of ours (the TC, not the NG this time - but the TC vanished a second later)
    Click Icon
    6 Networks show, including both of ours. Click the TC one. It connects - full signal strength on Icon
    Network Utility shows 130mbps connection
    Network Prefs show I have a self-Assigned IP, thus no net access.


    Try netbook - it connects to TC and NG in turn, fine, reliably.

    Turn off both NG and TC
    Turn both on again
    Turn off AP on Mac
    Turn on AP on Mac
    Click AP Icon
    6 Networks show, including both of ours. Click the TC one.
    Asks for WPA, Keychain has already provided it. Click OK
    Connecting to network....
    Connection timeout

    Open Netbook.
    Connects fine
    Shut down netbook

    Click AP icon
    Click Join Other Network
    Click Show Networks
    5 Networks show, including TC but not NG
    Click it, hit join
    Connecting to network
    Connection timeout
    Click Icon
    5 Networks show, including TC but not NG. Click the TC one.
    Asks for WPA, Keychain has already provided it. Click OK
    Connecting to network....
    Connection timeout
    Go to network prefs
    Make a new 'location'
    Turn airport off
    Turn airport on
    Click AP icon
    5 Networks show, including one of ours (the TC, not the NG this time - but the TC plus another vanished a second later)
    Click AP icon
    3 networks show, including neither of ours
    Click AP icon
    5 Networks show, including one of ours (the TC, but the TC plus another vanished a second later)
    Open iStumbler
    7 Networks show - still including both of ours at twice the strength of any other network, still with unique channels.
    Click AP icon
    5 Networks show, including one of ours (the TC)
    Click our TC network
    Connects immediately
    Go to 192.168.0.1 to see if TC is seing the router (let alone internet)
    Works perfectly
    Try google.com
    Works.

    Time is 07:41
    26 minutes of my life wasted.

    Typically - over the past few weeks, when I've connected, I get a few minutes of BRILLIANT connectivity - then it dies. Then I end up going through some random routine as seen above for 5, maybe 10, maybe more minutes before, at random, it will connect again.

    Why does my Macbook have such a damn hard time connecting to a fellow airport device, whilst a £300 netbook connects perfectly, first time every time, without ever having trouble?

    I have a different ADSL box to try tonight as I've switched ISP's (not because of this - this is nothing to do with the ISP - this is an Apple issue).

    It's a damn good job Apple make 'Keynote' - or I'd have switched back several months ago.
     
  2. Insulin Junkie macrumors 65816

    Insulin Junkie

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Location:
    Mainland Europe
    #2
    I had some trouble following all of what you said, though I did try my best to read & understand it.
    Have you recently upgraded operating systems e.g. from Tiger to Leopard?
    Have you tried either up or downgrading your AirPort firmware? That might do the trick.

    If all else fails try a clean re-install of your OS, it's been reported to work. I trust you've done the PRAM reset already?
     
  3. djellison thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Location:
    Pasadena CA
    #3
    This is a fairly new Unibody Macbook. It came with Leopard, which has been updated with all latest updates.

    The Time Capsule was upgraded to the most recent - which broke everything. It has since been downgraded back to the previous version which at least works occasionally.

    I am not resintalling a whole bloody operating system to fix a WiFi problem. indeed - at work, connecting to an NG WAP.... it's FINE. PERFECT.
     
  4. Insulin Junkie macrumors 65816

    Insulin Junkie

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Location:
    Mainland Europe
    #4
    Relax mate, it was only a suggestion. :cool: I know you're aggrevated, however still.
    So AirPort works fine at work, but is giving you grief at home?

    My last and final suggestion is - before taking it in to the apple store - phone up your ISP, maybe they can help you re-configure your settings. I remember when I set up the imac wifi I had to phone them up to get the correct settings for mac, since I had a PC sharing the same wireless. It's a shot in the dark, and I'm not even sure if it's relevant to the problem you're experiencing, especially since my macbook (same as yours - recent alu one) connected to the wifi without me having to muck with the settings.

    Other than that, and what I said before, I'm out of suggestions.
     
  5. djellison thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Location:
    Pasadena CA
    #5
    It's nothing to do with them. This is a Macbook issue - a macbook + time capsule = pain.
     

Share This Page